K. Popkin - N. Bellon 0-1 - misplayed attack sequence
After a poor defensive move on my part, my opponent correctly played the Knight sac 18. Nxe6!, but did not follow through correctly and I was able to win with a piece up. My own personal rule is that I will not sacrifice material unless I clearly see the line through (no speculative or "intuitive" sacs for me). This is why it's useless to congratulate yourself after correctly guessing the first move of a combination when studying from tactic books - it only counts if you see the whole line. I got lucky here because I should not have played 18...fxe6.