x
Chess - Play & Learn

Chess.com

FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store

VIEW

Death Match 31-Shankland vs. Meier

tdrgchess
Mar 8, 2015, 3:41 PM 2

GM Georg Meier will compete against GM Sam Shankland at Death Match 31 after probably the "closest qualification month in history" as Mike Klein said. After Meier beat GM Tamir Nabaty on the final day of February he recieved the chance to play against the Death Match 3 winner Sam Shankland. The FIDE score for Shankland is currently at 2661 while Georg lies at 2652. Shankland very frequently tunes in to Death Matches as a spectator, sometimes even helping commentate. He recently entered the world's top 100 players. Shankland won a gold for his undefeated winning streak at the 2014 Olympiad in Tromso. He has played at the  Millionaire Open, the American Continental Championship (which by the way he qualified for the World Cup there), also at the Qatar Masters, Al-Ain Classic, and Tata Steel.

 

Georg is a very familiar name on chess.com and played a whole 203 blitz rounds in February and has been in the top-100 for much longer than his opponent, even though at 27 he is four years older than Shankland. He also just won his second TITLED TUESDAY. They have met at least once playing chess in 2012. Tune in to Chess.com/TV on Saturday, March 28 at 9 a.m. Pacific (UTC -7), which is noon Eastern and 4 p.m in London for all the action! At this time, Chess.com is also planning to introduce a special host that has never commentated on a Death Match 

Online Now