En passant

  • Last updated on 11/7/15, 12:18 PM.

  • Send to friend
  • | 1108 reads

En passant (from French: "in passing") is a maneuver in chess which is performed after a player moves a pawn two squares forward from its starting position, and an opposing pawn captures it as if it had only moved one square.  En passant may only be played immediately after a two-square square pawn advance, or the right to capture "in passing" is lost.

After pawns were granted the ability to move two squares on their first move, the En passant rule was introduced in 1490 to prevent pawns from having too much power or freedom.

Here is an example:

 In the second diagram, White can NOT capture en passant:

White can not take here though:
En passant captures are use in chess composition. Many Retrograde analysis problems utilize this fancy captures.
Black could only have moved c7-c5 last move, allowing 1.bxc6 e.p.# 


  • 5 years ago · Quote · #101


    I have been trying to find a reference for a while. My friend thought i was making it up but now i have proof.

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #102


    It's a very nice and perfect rule for chess.........

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #103


    a couple of years back when my opponent did en passant against me, i thought he cheated. then he explained to me what en passant is :D
  • 4 years ago · Quote · #104


    I was told that en passant can only be used once per game. Is this true?

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #105


    En passant is the least well-known chess rule; I hope one day every chess player willl know it.

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #106


    I have seen this move a few times when i play chess in my phone

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #107


    Its one of the peculiar and interesting moves in the game of chess :) I love it !

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #108


    I thought I knew all of the rules of Chess, until I saw this! AWESOME

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #109


    I'm not sure I understand the confusion.  It is simply a rule of the game,, and has been so for over 500 years.  No great secret,, just uninformed players.  As to fairness,, it's as fair as the pawn's ability to move two squares,, and a reasonable defense for the opponent against just that.

    Chess is an enjoyable game,,, but if one chooses to play,, it behooves him to learn the rules.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #110


    As I have read here, I though it was an android's chess.com app bug when playing against computer. In fact, I suffered it many times and finally searched of it. I'm surprised to have kept this movement unknown until today, since I have been playing chess since I was a child! Laughing

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #111


    y the last 1 just the image u get from making the diagram?

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #112


    i've actually induced en passant on myself as a strategy to gain positional advantage.  I wish I could say I've done it on more that one occasion, but this situation has presented itself only once.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #113


    1 time i lost my queen because the other guy did en passant. i didnt even know what it meant. ever since then i always ask the player to not play enpassant and neither do i.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #114


    Have used it quite often. One of my favorite plays on the board.Cool

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #115


    soo nice move,never heard about it.but its a really nice move

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #116



  • 3 years ago · Quote · #117


    corewhynot wrote:

    I was told that en passant can only be used once per game. Is this true? No it can be used as often as there are PAWNS that have not been used previously.The same pawn cannot be used twice

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #118


    iliosis wrote:

    Someone called me a cheater for doing this...;]

    Even though they thought they knew the game,,,they didn't

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #119


    iliosis wrote:

    Someone called me a cheater for doing this...;]

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #120


    One time my pawn on the 2nd rank was attacked by a pawn on the 3rd rank, I moved my pawn 1 square and my opponent tried to take en passant!

Back to Top

Post your reply: