Humpy Koneru Eliminated In World Championships Round 2

Humpy Koneru Eliminated In World Championships Round 2

SonofPearl
  • 9.801 Lectores
  • 39 Comentarios
  • Cobertura de eventos de ajedrez

womens%20world%20chess%20championship%202012%20logo.jpgSecond seed Humpy Koneru has crashed out of the 2012 Women's World Championship in Khanty-Mansiysk at the second round stage.

The Indian Grandmaster needed a win with the black pieces to take her match with Natalia Zhukova to tie-breaks, but instead another loss sealed her fate.

Former world champion Alexandra Kosteniuk was another player eliminated today, losing her match with Natalia Pogonina.

The defending champion Hou Yifan also suffered a suprise loss against Monika Socko of Poland with the white pieces, leaving the pair facing a tie-break playoff tomorrow.

A total of 10 matches finished decisively, with 6 matches going to playoffs.

Natalia Zhukova won a nice game to eliminate the #2 seed

2012 Women World Championship Round 2 Game2 Natalia Zhukova Humpy Koneru.jpg

.

.

Natalia Pogonina eliminated the former champion Alexandra Kosteniuk

2012 Women World Championship Round 2 Game2 Natalia Pogonina Alexandra Kosteniuk.jpg

.

.

The champion wobbles...Monika Socko hit back to force tie-breaks against Hou Yifan

2012 Women World Championship Round 2 game 2 Hou Yifan Monika Socko.jpg

.

.
Kateryna Lahno (left) was another high-profile casualty in the second round

2012 Women World Championship Round 2 Game2 Kateryna Lahno.jpg

.

.

Viktoria Cmilyte (left) was knocked out by Huang Qian

2012 Women World Championship Round 2 Game2 Viktoria Cmilyte.jpg

.

.

Irina Krush (right) equalised her match with Pia Cramling to reach tie-breaks

2012 Women World Championship Round 2 Game2 Pia Cramling Irina Krush.jpg

.

.

The scores in round two

Name G1 G2 Tot
Round 2 Match 01
Socko, Monika (POL) 0 1 1
Hou, Yifan (CHN) 1 0 1
Round 2 Match 02
Koneru, Humpy (IND) 0 0 0
Zhukova, Natalia (UKR) 1 1 2
Round 2 Match 03
Ushenina, Anna (UKR) ½ ½ 1
Muzychuk, Anna (SLO) ½ ½ 1
Round 2 Match 04
Zhao, Xue (CHN) 1 0 1
Khurtsidze, Nino (GEO) 0 1 1
Round 2 Match 05
Javakhishvili, Lela (GEO) ½ 1
Lahno, Kateryna (UKR) ½ 0 ½
Round 2 Match 06
Kosintseva, Nadezhda (RUS) ½ ½ 1
Mkrtchian, Lilit (ARM) ½ ½ 1
Round 2 Match 07
Huang, Qian (CHN) ½ 1
Cmilyte, Viktorija (LTU) ½ 0 ½
Round 2 Match 08
Sebag, Marie (FRA) ½ 1
Girya, Olga (RUS) ½ 0 ½
Round 2 Match 09
Galliamova, Alisa (RUS) ½ 1
Gunina, Valentina (RUS) ½ 0 ½
Round 2 Match 10
Cramling, Pia (SWE) 1 0 1
Krush, Irina (USA) 0 1 1
Round 2 Match 11
Hoang, Thanh Trang (HUN) ½ 0 ½
Kosintseva, Tatiana (RUS) ½ 1
Round 2 Match 12
Harika, Dronavalli (IND) 1 ½
Danielian, Elina (ARM) 0 ½ ½
Round 2 Match 13
Muzychuk, Mariya (UKR) 1 ½
Arribas Robaina, Maritza (CUB) 0 ½ ½
Round 2 Match 14
Kosteniuk, Alexandra (RUS) ½ 0 ½
Pogonina, Natalija (RUS) ½ 1
Round 2 Match 15
Zatonskih, Anna (USA) ½ ½ 1
Ju, Wenjun (CHN) ½ ½ 1
Round 2 Match 16
Stefanova, Antoaneta (BUL) ½ 1
Zhu, Chen (QAT) ½ 0 ½

.

The schedule is below. Games start at 15:00 local time (09:00 UTC).

Date Day Event
11.11.2012 Sunday Round I - game 1
12.11.2012 Monday Round I - game 2
13.11.2012 Tuesday Tiebreak
14.11.2012 Wednesday Round II- game 1
15.11.2012 Thursday Round II- game 2
16.11.2012 Friday Tiebreak
17.11.2012 Saturday Round III- game 1
18.11.2012 Sunday Round III- game 2
19.11.2012 Monday Tiebreak
20.11.2012 Tuesday Round IV- game 1
21.11.2012 Wednesday Round IV- game 2
22.11.2012 Thursday Tiebreak
23.11.2012 Friday Round V- game 1
24.11.2012 Saturday Round V- game 2
25.11.2012 Sunday Tiebreak
26.11.2012 Monday Free Day
27.11.2012 Tuesday Round VI - game 1 final
28.11.2012 Wednesday Round VI - game 2 final
29.11.2012 Thursday Round VI - game 3 final
30.11.2012 Friday Round VI - game 4 final
01.12.2012 Saturday Tiebreak
02.12.2012 Sunday Closing Ceremony

.

The 2012 championship runs from 11 November - 2 December, with each round consisting of 2-game matches (4 in the final) between the players drawn against one another. Tied matches are decided by rapid and blitz tie-break deciders.

Pictures via the official website. Results and games via TWIC.

Conectado ahora