Sports Illustrated "Long Live the Queen" 2019 Article about Lisa Lane

SeniorPatzer

I have a gift subscription to Sports Illustrated.  Most times I don't even read it.  I just happened to glance through today's issue that came in the mail because I watched the National College Football Championship this past Monday between Alabama and Clemson.   (And Clemson smashed!)

Anyways, was just reading through the table of contents and there was an article about Chess!  About Lisa Lane (whom I only knew about recently because of Batgirl).  Oh my goodness, it was a terrific article with wonderful black-and-white photos.  The retelling of history was just engrossing, and its main purpose was to highlight the pay inequity in sports between men and women.  With all the Title IX stuff currently going on, and the never-ending Feminist movement from the 60's and 70's about Equal Pay for Equal Work (which I've never met anyone who disagreed with that), I understand the reasoning.  

Here was an eye-popper from the article.  In 1963 Lisa Lane qualified for the U.S. Women's team in the Chess Olympiad.  But she got passed over because she couldn't pay her way!!  The other women on the chess team could pay their way, so USCF selected those women!  Moreover, I'm sure the men's chess team didn't have to pay their way to go to the biennial Chess Olympiad.  Now that's a solid argument that there was financial sexism going on in chess.  

I know that was the purpose of SI's story, but what I really enjoyed were the photos that captured the era and history of chess back then.  There was a photo of Lisa Lane and Bobby Fischer and Lisa Lane was wearing a dress with the money she won from that fish Bobby Fischer in Poker, lol!!

"Hey Bobby, you say you can spot me knight odds in chess, uh?  Well, pay up in poker, sucker!!"