Forums

Best chess program to learn from

Sort:
ramron67

I am a novice, and I would like to find a computer program that will help me learn and improve my play.

Ideally, instead of getting my clock cleaned by the chess engine, I would like to also have the ability to use the chess engine as an instructor.

Which program should I get?

redlite462

try chessmaster grandmaster edition. It has tutorials by a GM. and you can adjust the level it plays at so you are not always getting your clock cleaned :)

Shivsky

Though a premium membership at chess.com beats chessmaster hands down in terms of the learning material.  Though if you can't be online often enough, CM would be the best offline tool.

philidorposition

I think nothing can measure up to all those Waitzkin lectures on Chessmaster considering the price, but chess mentor here in chess com is great too.

JG27Pyth
ramron67 wrote:

I am a novice, and I would like to find a computer program that will help me learn and improve my play.

Ideally, instead of getting my clock cleaned by the chess engine, I would like to also have the ability to use the chess engine as an instructor.

Which program should I get?