HOS New Limited Edition 1849

ROBB_CHESS

Only 50 sets will be made... Genuine ebony and boxwood additional. Knights look good I think...

http://www.houseofstaunton.com/the-new-cooke-series-luxury-chess-set-3-5-king.html

loubalch

Can't say as I'm enamored with that snub-nosed knight, but hey, beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

ROBB_CHESS

That's a good phrase ... Snub nose... That's why I actually like the knights as the original 1849's had a snub nose look and small ears... Also looks like the current Jaques Of London 1849 remake... Only thing missing is that beautiful Jaque's stamp on the king... that's a $1,000 extra :)

Gomer_Pyle

I believe Bronco70 recently bought one from the HOS ebay site. It looked very nice. It was on my short list of two for a while but I went with another set. Now that I look at it again I'm tempted. I'm no expert but that knight looks very close to one of the original 1849 knights from Jaques, which is why I was interested in the first place.

Crappov
ROBB_CHESS wrote:

Only 50 sets will be made... Genuine ebony and boxwood additional. Knights look good I think...

http://www.houseofstaunton.com/the-new-cooke-series-luxury-chess-set-3-5-king.html

Great looking set which I would buy if I had the scratch.  I get confused, though.  I thought the Collector was an 1849 repro:

"Crafted to replicate the design and proportions of the original Staunton pattern Chessmen, registered by Nathaniel Cooke in March of 1849 and first manufactured by Jaques of London in September 1849."

I'm saving up for a Collector, but if I could afford it I'd just buy 'em all.

9kick9

For the price HOS is charging, I can live with my Legend style clone. The Legend clone has lead weights wich is nice. No cracking bases to this date. JMO

TundraMike

I like the Blood Rosewood set. Blood Rosewood is different than Bud Rosewood which is African PadauK. Blood is a much deeper red where AP starts out almost orange. 

ROBB_CHESS