Forums

Susan Polgar books or Winning Chess series?

Sort:
chirieac

Hi,

I'm a beginner and I want to buy Polgar's books or Yasser Seirawan's Winning Chess series?

What do you recommend?

The Polgar's first  book is not in stock on amazon and to buy it new from the sellers is quite expensive. The Seirawan's books are in stock, so that is an advantage I think.

jrcolonial98

The Winning Chess series is better.

SirSpaceFrog

I second the winning chess series.  Susan's books are good, but in my opinion the Winning chess series is the best introductory series on the market.

jambyvedar

Go for Winning Chess series by Seirawan, it's great, you will learn a lot from it..

chirieac

Thanks for the tips.

Unfortunaley I've already ordered the Polgar's books since I've found a good deal for them on http://www.betterworldbooks.com with free shipping.

(I'm so hasty sometimes...) 

jambyvedar

You will learn good tactical pattern with Polgar's book, but you will learn it also from the Winning Chess Series by Seirawan, what more you will also learn endings, strategy, opening ideas, chess history from the winning chess series of Seirawan. Out there,it's the best chess series in my opinion

johnmusacha

I second the Winning Chess Series recommendation by Seirawan also.  There's actually a seventh in the series out now, called winning combinations or something.

chirieac

If I decide to read Winning Chess Series after reading Polgar's books, do I need all of them or I could start from a more intermediate book?

What is the books order of the Winning Chess Series from basic to advanced? Play Winning Chess I think is the most basic one. 

chirieac

I've just received the "Chess Tactics for Champions: A step-by-step guide to using tactics and combinations the Polgar way" book and I'm so excited Cool . Unfortunatlley until I receive vol 1 I think I will just admire it. 

Daeru

Go for Winning Chess Series

Bruch