Forums

Top Ten Books

Sort:
PeterHyatt

I've been looking at a lot of lists for favorite chess books but it changes with each month's new publications.  

So...you are stuck on an island, you've got your favorite dedicated chess computer (with extra batteries) and can have any 10 chess books.  You are desperate to improve your chess.  You're a 1200 -1400 player and are going to work hard...

What books must you have with you?   (This would be great if 1800 plus players could chime in on what books gave them the biggest boost in ratings!)

Thanks in advance!

YouBeenAfraid

I am of expert strength personally, and I have to say that I didn't need 10 books to get better at the 1200-1400 level. However, there are five books that do stand out in my mind:

• Guide to Good Chess by C.J.S. Purdy - Although part of the book is devoted to teaching absolute beginners the rules of chess, the other half has some interesting things that are interesting for players at the 1200-1400 range.
  • Action Chess: Purdy's 24 Hour Opening Repertoire by C.J.S. Purdy - Here, Purdy (a former Correspondence World Champion) provides and easy-to-learn opening repertoire, useful at the 1200-1400 level.
  • How to Reassess Your Chess by Jeremy Silman - A great instructional book that teaches a wide variety of chess topics. This book will help take your game to the next level. Silman is an awesome chess teacher.
  • Silman's Complete Endgame Course: From Beginner to Master by Jeremy Silman - This is the only chess book any player below 2200 strength will need on the endings. Easy-to-read, and definitely instructional.  
PeterHyatt

Thank you.  I just got the two Purdy books!  

cornedbeefhashvili
  • Chess Fundamentals by Capablanca
  • My System (old translation) by Nimzovich
  • The Middlegame (Vol 1) by Euwe
  • Sharpen Your Tactics by Archangelsky & Lein
  • Practical Rook Endings by Mednis
  • Endgame Strategy
PeterHyatt

Thank you for the suggestions.  Thus far: