Forums

Some Strategy

Sort:
chesster87

Hey everyone,

Im new, and i just started playing chess. i wanted to learn some general stratgies and rules to upping my chess skills, so i figured Id ask some of the more seasoned chess players for some general advice of things they have learned and eperienced during the game. What thought process should i be going through as the game progresses?? What should i avoid doing? what have YOU  noticed as you have sharpened your skills in chess? thanks guys :)

-Omar

ASpieboy

Watch for bishops. I've lost many a piece to a discreet bishop long forgotten.

slack

-As the game starts to open up, put your rooks on your opponents 7th row (2nd row if you play black). All kinds of tactical plays can be made when your rooks control that row.

-Try to keep a pawn on either d4 or e4 (d5/e5 for black). At the very least, try to attack those squares.

-Know the value of each piece, and make sure all of them are defended. Bishops and Knights are generally worth 3 pawns, Rooks 5, and the Queen is worth 9.

-Look for pins. Pins and piece value are linked. For example, if a knight is pinned to the queen by a bishop, the knight can't move because the bishop would capture the queen and it would not be an equal trade of material. Pins are such a crucial part of chess.

-Time, or tempo, is the other important concept in chess. Some moves will make your opponent respond directly, like putting the king in check. Either the threat has to be removed, or the king has to move to safety. Generally, with the Queen the same is true. When a minor piece or a pawn attacks a queen, your opponent will respond directly and move the queen. Use that to your advantage.

KillaBeez

Make sure you are not hanging any pieces.  Doing this alone can boost your rating so much.

steelfire

watch for forks by knights. They are so deadly.

steelfire