Forums

Aggressive beginner opening as white

Sort:
StephaniePitman

I'm somewhat new to playing chess on a regular basis, but have begun playing for a team and definitely want to get better. As black, I typically play the French Defense, but as white I still have not decided on an opening to focus on, but I like to be aggressive. Any suggestions?

Scottrf

Any of the gambits are quite aggressive, Scotch Gambit, King's Gambit etc.

StephaniePitman

Which do you think is best to start with?

Marfol

Morra Gambit against Sicilians.

Scottrf

StephaniePitman wrote:

Which do you think is best to start with?

No idea, have never played either. Why not play them and see what you like. There's not often a right and wrong answer in openings.

StephaniePitman

Very true, thank you for your advice!

Jambie27

i usually play the ponziani but the scotch is more sound and more aggresive

Spielkalb

Or the Danish Gambit? Here's an example:

Two pawns for two quite agressive placed bishops.

Scottrf

I found the Danish quite comfortable as black after giving back a pawn:

http://www.chess.com/echess/game?id=60966928

Lasker didn't.

http://www.chessgames.com/perl/chessgame?gid=1028156

bazzer

The Evans gambit is also good and can be very hard to defend, I would look at that

Spielkalb

Nice game Bird vs. Lasker! 

About your game: I think white can continue agresssive play if he captures with the knight instead of the queen on move 8. Does not make much sense to offer a queen exchange when yo play for a quick attack, I suppose.

ThrillerFan

No beginner should ever be starting with the King's Gambit and Morra Gambit.