Forums

Am I the only one who thinks that the King's Gambit is trash?

Sort:
fabelhaft

There are many better openings, I think it was Kramnik who said something like that with the King's Gambit white destroys his own position and gives up a pawn at the same time. Carlsen is the only top player to have used it in a classical game for decades, and it doesn't just have to do with fashion. Nimzowitsch and Keres played the Latvian Gambit once in a while but no top player would play it today. Then it's another thing what is fun on amateur level, but to me there are more exciting openings than the King's Gambit.

DrCheckevertim
Hadron wrote:
DrCheckevertim wrote:

If my standard rating was under 1000 I'd keep my opinions to myself. You barely know how the horsie moves.... just saying.

and your Chess.com rating of 1463 makes you a grandmaster how?...

I don't see anywhere that I claimed to be a great chess player. But the OP has a complete beginner rating and is calling an opening "trash," when that opening has been used by plenty of grandmasters. Undecided I can't find a place where I condemned an entire opening while barely understanding what a fork is. Please let me know if I ever do such a thing.

CJ_P

The KG scares me, so I play the faulkbeer. And a bad line at that, but not many on my level like the direct refutation ... so i get away with it hehehe

TheGreatOogieBoogie
FirebrandX wrote:

You should be able to beat Nigel Short then if it is trash.

No offense, and I typically respect what you have to say, but Short could beat you and me using the Basman's Defense (1.e4,g5?! or maybe even ?) and even ...f6?  If Paul Morphy of all people could lose against 1...f6?? (Why is it called Barnes' Defense again?) it could damn well happen to us, especially against world class opposition. 

And the King's Gambit, as dubious as it is nowadays, is much sounder than the Barnes'. 

Wasteproduct2002