Forums

Don't be obsessed with Openings!!

Sort:
royalbishop
M-W-R wrote:
BiffTheUnderstudy wrote:

The problem is not that people study too much opening theory, it's that they just memorize lines without understanding the ideas behind.

If you want to get better at chess, do study opening theory, but try to understand the concepts rather than the lines. I started playing sicilian dragon because I somehow liked it when I got into more serious chess, and I learnt enormously because the concepts behind the opening are very straightforward. Then when I started to play other sicilian variation, or sicilian defense with white, I was very accurate, because I knew the most important stuff.

I would say, don't go into memorization for the sake of it, but specialize in some openings and read good books about them. The starting out guides are very good.

Playing without any knowledge of the theory, different unsound stuff every game, as a lot of people do, is the best way to suck for ever.

I totally agree, if you just memorize openings, it will only help you for one side. For example, if I just memorize the French, I will only be able to play for black, that's obvious. However, if I learn the concepts, I will be able to counter whatever white throws against me. Also, if I'm playing white against the French, knowing the concepts will help me because I can anticipate what Black will want to do.

Could you have just wait till we got past 50. Now we do not have anything to talk about. lol. Now will come a new topic slowly but surely.

plexinico

I think its really good practice to study openning theory so as to learn the middlegame, the pawn structures, general strategy according to positions that arise.
If one only studies variations and variations without much thought I agree

I don't agree at all with some people that say you shouldn't study openning theory until you are 1800-2000 rated played.

gundamv