Forums

Italian opening + evans gambit.

Sort:
telumindel

I'm new to chess. Been playing for about a week now, and i'm trying to learn my first opening. I found a forum thread where few players suggested, that the italian opening is a good one to learn for a beginner. I also found this evans gambit move on youtube which i really like, so i decided to start with this one. But i have couple of questions in case something goes different than usually in this opening. I'll write down the moves and put my questions in brackets.

So the moves goes like:

1.e4 e5(if black doesn't play e5, should i still follow with the italian opening, or answer with something else. I played a game with my grandpa, and he did a c5 move. What would be a good response in this situation?)

2.Nf3 Nc6(if black plays d6 to protect  it's e pawn, should i still follow up with the italian opening?)

3.Bc4 Bc5(now, if black doesn't play Bc5, what should i do? Yesterday i had a game, where blak played Bb4. I still followed with attacking the weak f pawn on black side by c3, then black did Ba5 and i did Qb3. Basically i achieved the same position i was aiming to achieve by using the evans gambit, but without sacrificing two pawns. But if black doesn't play the bishop to c5 at all, should i still follow with the attack to the weak f pawn, which is the whole point of the evans gambit move?)

And this is the point, which interests me the most:

4. b4 Bxb4(if this happens, i basically achieved what i wanted to, but if black decided to retreat the bishop to let's say Bb6. What should be the proper response?)

Openings are currently my weak spot, cause i calculate pretty well to figure out possible outcomes of different moves, but i really don't know what way to develop my pieces if something happens the way i didn't expect it to. Thank you for your help, guys! :)

cshuenss

The Italian is e4 e5   Nf3 Nc6    Bc4

Use the game explorer and see what masters play.

Swindlers_List