Forums

Italian?

Sort:
crustacio

So I had seen the Italian opening maybe once before i started playing on chess.com. Now everyone seems to eschew the Ruy Lopez in its favor on here. Which is fine with me, since I prefer to play against the Italian as black. Does anyone have success with it? Seems not as good as the Ruy.

shepi13

I believe the modern Italian is like a slightly worse version of the spanish.

crustacio

Hmm. I think the Italian isnt bad, and it can cramp black. But it looks like it gives black more chances to grab initiative

shepi13

In the line I gave it is slightly important that black is also up a pawn.

guitarzan

I haven't played that many games here, but looking at my stats, I do alright as Black in this opening. Here's an example:

http://www.chess.com/echess/game?id=45877432

6. ... Nxe4 was a little different on my part, but I liked the end result Smile.

netzach

Italian-game is great to play:

crustacio

Do any of you guys try 3... Nf6 as black? that seemed like the natural move to me since it gets the initiative a bit away from white, so that's what I used in all my games. Looking at the book lines though, Bc5 is apparently what gets played.

Expertise87

3...Nf6 is very popular and it's what I play. You have to know what you're doing after both 4.Ng5 and 4.d4 although you can probably wing it against other moves and do fine.

shepi13

3... Nf6 transposes after other moves, but would force an early d3 or Nc3 from white, which is an improvement on Bc5. Also, d4 transposes to a good but complicated line of the scotch gambit for black.