Forums

Learning the Leningrad Dutch

Sort:
Noreaster

I'M new to the Leningrad Dutch and I'M wondering which of the two following books are better for the newer player to the Leningrad. I have the Kindermann. This book has received some high praise. On a quick glance it seems heavy on the analysis so I get the gist that it maybe geared for the more advanced player despite some players claiming it is a great book for newer players to the leningrad. The other book I have is McDonald's 'Play the Dutch.' This book has not received that much praise and for the most part seems to be panned by Leningrad players. The reasons seem to be that some of the lines that McDonald advocates seem to be dubious if not outright busted. To counter all of this I have heard that McDonald's book is good for the newer player to the Dutch as McDonald goes over all of the basic ideas in the Leningrad Dutch. So I would like to ask anyone that maybe familiar with these two works which is the better book for a newbie to this opening? Thanks....... 

NimzoRoy

At the risk of raining on your parade it seems to me you're trying to learn trigonometry ahead of basic arithmetic. I'd follow GM Reti's advice to beginners from his classic work Masters of the Chessboard

I leave this rule for others when I'm dead
Be always sure you're right — THEN GO AHEAD!  Davy Crockett

http://www.chess.com/blog/NimzoRoy/beginner-chess-book-recommendations

Noreaster

I understand your advice and thank you but I prefer to go at things a certain way despite what others may think is right or wrong.  Anway, thanks again. So again waht is a good book for a player looking to start out with the Leningrad Dutch? Kindermann or McDonald?

Expertise87

There most likely aren't any books geared toward players of your level on the Leningrad Dutch, sorry.

TitanCG