Opening for 1700 player?

FloatingRook

As you can see my rapid rating is about 1700 and until now i never really thought about what opening to play. Is it still to early to think about an opening reportoire? Because most players I play against seem to already have some sort of plan for the middlegame. And if I should learn an opening, what would you recommend for a still learning but not complete beginner player like me (my playing style is quite normal and balanced I would say, but maybe a master can interpret something else out of my games)?

MaDLife37

Of course, you must pick the opening which fits your playing style. If you want to improve your chess at this level, you must pick an opening reportoire. If you are a player who starts with 1.d4, you must have a knowledge about Black's choices such as 1.c5, 1.g6, etc... If you play 3.Nf3 against "1.d4 Nf6 2.c4 e6", then you must have a knowledge about Black's choices such as Queen's Indian, Bogo Indian, QGD, etc... This is a vital way to improve.

Aleksandr_Medved

Focus on "d4", you have a decent positional understanding and are not afraid of reaching an endgame, while you don't have a lot of "book" knowledge you have the intuition necessary to play this positions. Try to develop your endgame skills and you will improve a lot thanks to your technique.

You don't really need to worry on your opening repertoire but here is a suggestion: use a program like SCID or chessbase to make a database with your games, play through them and analize them, see where you were comfortable and where you weren't, investigate the positions you know and try out new ideas, understand the positions you are trying you reach and the price you have to play in order to reach them. Keep an eye on recent chessgames at international level so you can see new ideas and disasters alike.

This will take time and dedication but it is the best way to get a taylor-made repertoire that suits you.

here are some players that might interest you: