Forums

which is better the semi-slav or slav

Sort:
kodeeak

Both the semi-slav and slav are played against the queen's gambit declined lines, but which one is better. They both got their pros and cons. The semi-slav is a solid opening, but it blocks the bishop in, so it will not be able to come out for a while. On the other hand the slav opts to let out the bishop though it often becomes a target. So which is better, I think the semi-slav

SEMI-SLAV

SLAV

kodeeak

which do you reccomend

kodeeak

pellik your pretty much saying that if you know how to play the semi-slav well it is much better

kodeeak

sorry those were just some main lines

kodeeak

I love the meran it is the one I'm studying and I'm told is great at high level play

kodeeak

any other tips

Expertise87

I like 5.e3 a6 in the Semi-Slav. If your opponent doesn't know what they are doing, it's easy for Black to leave the opening with an advantage (the idea is to take on c4, play b5, and play Nc6, which is impossible after the usual Nbd7). The correct moves for White are generally considered to be 6.b3 and 6.c5. If you learn the replies to all of the wrong moves, and why they work, this is a useful weapon. I have very good results in this line.

The Cambridge Springs defense (5.Bg5 Nbd7 6.e3 Qa5 in the Semi-Slav, technically a line of the Queen's Gambit Declined that originally used to arise by the 1.d4 d5 2.c4 e6 3.Nc3 Nf6 4.Bg5 Nbd7 move-order with 5.Nf3 c6 6.e3 Qa5) is a good weapon, also 5...h6 is what I play. 5...dxc4 is very risky and well-analyzed; I wouldn't recommend it to anyone below master level.

Overall my vote goes to the Semi-Slav. I don't think it really requires as much theory knowledge as the Slav, having played both at 1500-1900 club level before advancing to the 2000+ stage, but what do I know.

kodeeak