22425 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
The knight and queen could have been captured long before the first check was placed!!! And I do know what a double check is, I just didn't see that it was a double check.
why didnt black take that darn knight?
What if black plays f6?? Doesn't look like forced mate...
One of the nicest combinations to lead up to the smothered mate that I have ever seen.
Why on earth is that first move even in there. Its a blunder, as the knight now becomes under attack by the rook, and a hanging piece. The rook is perfectly capable of moving, and I don't know why it doesn't. And why on earth does the queen move into attack? It could easily be captured on the next turn, as its hanging as well. Also, whites move with the rook could have been avoided altogether, and the end result would have been the same. Also, white's knight could have been captured in the move to g6, as it was hanging, and under attack by a pawn.
Well, if the rook takes the knight on the first move, white plays Qd8+ followed by Rxd8# when black rook retakes. As for the queen move, if black takes it with his knight, white plays Rd8#. As for the knight move to g8, black was under check by the knight and the queen making it impossible to take the knight as he would still be under check by the queen. That first move isn't a blunder as it leads to mate or a large material advantage for white.
Just saw this. Sorry. And you still haven't addressed the queen question. Instead of moving out of check, black could have captured with the knight.
If black captures with knight, Qd8#. However, I think if black plays f6 then white won't be able to force mate.
I realized that. That's why I deleted the comment. But what if after Qb4, black captures the queen with the knight?
Sorry not asked from me but couldn't resist answering :), I think if black captures queen with knight then Rd8#, as black's king fleeing square is guarded by white knight.
If black capture white Queen Qd8, White rook will checkmate the black king, and the game end.
Still could not understand clearly why ND5 and not QD5. this would have changes the scene to either draw or black win,
Oh wow. So it was forced checkmate. Why do we have to have knights? They make everything confusing.
Superb move! I have to remember this play. Thanks for sharing. Lose the Queen, mate the King! :)
it has alot of erros in the game the qween sholud by dead
if n.c8 can black make an escape through pf6 or pg6 ? help...
2/8/2016 - Neumann-Hernandez Dresden 1969
by deviant17 a few minutes ago
How do I play 'fast chess' against my friends or kids in chesskid.com?
by chessdad2 3 minutes ago
by mackytom 4 minutes ago
i can not see where tournaments are. please help.
by Martin_Stahl 4 minutes ago
Who will win Candidates 2016
by zinkelburger 5 minutes ago
Somebody explain the rules please
by LarissaLachache 5 minutes ago
by AlexCampbell 7 minutes ago
What do you think to my attacking win?
by CensoredReality 9 minutes ago
new game time out
by baddogno 11 minutes ago
State of Chess.com Round Two! Post your questions here:
by RonaldJosephCote 11 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2016 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!