3/10/2012 - White to Draw

FredBatchelor

Easy Breezie. I would like to clarify this problem to everyone. ............

stephen_33
Baffling !
You've only got to read the posts on this from beginning to end (and some of us do) to realise how utterly bemused & confused most people are.  I managed to get about 3 moves right by playing tactically but I didn't understand the objective.

  So white has to force a draw.  First principles then (copied from the Learn/Basic Rules section of this site):-
  1. The position reaches a stalemate where it is one player’s turn to move, but his king is NOT in check and yet he does not have another legal move
  2. The players may simply agree to a draw and stop playing
  3. There are not enough pieces on the board to force a checkmate (example: a king and a bishop vs. a king)
  4. A player declares a draw if the same exact position is repeated three times (though not necessarily three times in a row)
  5. Fifty consecutive moves have been played where neither player has moved a pawn or captured a piece.

      So which of these applies when you get to the solution ? I just don't get it even after reading 'gutartas's analysis.
      Is this Chess.com's revenge for all the whining that goes on in this forum ?
ndskykng
stephen_33 wrote:
Baffling !
You've only got to read the posts on this from beginning to end (and some of us do) to realise how utterly bemused & confused most people are.  I managed to get about 3 moves right by playing tactically but I didn't understand the objective.

  So white has to force a draw.  First principles then (copied from the Learn/Basic Rules section of this site):-
The position reaches a stalemate where it is one player’s turn to move, but his king is NOT in check and yet he does not have another legal move The players may simply agree to a draw and stop playing There are not enough pieces on the board to force a checkmate (example: a king and a bishop vs. a king) A player declares a draw if the same exact position is repeated three times (though not necessarily three times in a row) Fifty consecutive moves have been played where neither player has moved a pawn or captured a piece.

  So which of these applies when you get to the solution ? I just don't get it even after reading 'gutartas's analysis.
  Is this Chess.com's revenge for all the whining that goes on in this forum ?

4.

 

I thought you said you read all the posts from beginning to end.

StrategicPlay
I think in this case, 'draw' means escaping a checkmate. Well, a pretty hard and unexpected puzzle it is!
ne0218

???

valientone

I think I like solving for Mate better.. Im Not a draw type player

vanhafford

Thanks for the lesson!  A draw is worth 1/2 point!  Better than no point at all.

MDOC777

I didn't get it right, but I can see the draw.

MDOC777
Wilderboard wrote:

didnt read the title...was trying to find a way to mate...damn...


 LOL... I did.  It pays.

onlyswaraj

 bull shit.. what is the final .. who wins?

RedAdom

White should win this position easily.

domalius

Good puzzle, relatively difficult

cfrench49

Tough one.

The_Chess_Ninja

HARD

donce83

A very difficult puzzle, i´m missed in second moveSmile

wayne100

difficult

Mathematics

wow:)

melvinbluestone

The solution given is not very convincing. The problem is, after 1.Bh3 white doesn't threaten anything. So 1...Bxh3 (or 1...Qxh3) is not forced for black. For example, why not 1...Bxe2 followed maybe by a check Bf3+ or BxN? Here's a nice continuation:

DynamicMoose

Ah, now I see why B-h3 was necessary. Qxh2 would have been a mate. Here I was trying to look for something for the white queen to do. 

Oops...

ndskykng
melvinbluestone wrote:

The solution given is not very convincing. The problem is, after 1.Bh3 white doesn't threaten anything. So 1...Bxh3 (or 1...Qxh3) is not forced for black. For example, why not 1...Bxe2 followed maybe by a check Bf3+ or BxN? Here's a nice continuation:


White isn't threatening anything? First off, take a glance at his queenside pawns, that can be turned in a hurry.

And take your own advice buddy.

3. Rxd1 isn't forced at all, and it leads to hanging of the rook.

For that matter, 4. Rxd6 isn't forced either, he would be an idiot to leave the bank rank available for that Queen check on e1.  You have to play the best move for both sides, are you kidding me?

White would never hang his rook with 3. Rxd1.  Start your continuation instead with 3. Qxf7, threatening the b7 pawn to finish off his passed pawns on the queenside and protecting his hung rook.