x
Chess - Play & Learn

Chess.com

FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store

VIEW

3/11/2011 - Cohn, 1928

  • #101

    nice one. forced stalemate or insufficient draw.

  • #102

    Playing for stalemate is something I need to start learning... interesting strategy. 

  • #103

    Last

  • #104

    fácil

  • #105
    Jpr wrote:

    how have i solved it? surely white loses...


    white can force a draw.  if black queen captures rook, stalemate.  if black advances pawn, rxQ+ then white can capture pawn.  if black moves king, rook can capture queen then pawn. 

  • #106
    localoptimum wrote:

    The solution doesn't make any sense.  PB2, KD2 (or e2), black promotes.  What am I missing please?  


     If Qxe3 it's stalemate.

  • #107
    Jpr wrote:

    how have i solved it? surely white loses...


     I understand that it becomes a stalemate, but in these cases stalemates seem stupid... white can't move because if he does, he gets taken, but isn't that the point?  Black should win this one because it was he that forced white into "passing" because he had no available move. An unfortunate, (and counter-intuitive, if not "cheating") rule of chess.  To me this is a checkmate, and when i teach people how to play, i will always tell them so, chess is about winning, not forcing a "draw" in favor of the loser.

  • #108
    localoptimum wrote:

    The solution doesn't make any sense.  PB2, KD2 (or e2), black promotes.  What am I missing please?  


     U r right!  This is not a stalemate; Black will win (remember yesterday's puzzle; the end game).

    SZ.

  • #109

    Interesting.

  • #110
    szammie wrote:
    localoptimum wrote:

    The solution doesn't make any sense.  PB2, KD2 (or e2), black promotes.  What am I missing please?  


     U r right!  This is not a stalemate; Black will win (remember yesterday's puzzle; the end game).

    SZ.


    no.. its a draw..

    theres no chance for black to win..
  • #111
    Jpr wrote:

    how have i solved it? surely white loses...


    If black takes the rook, white's king can not move anywhere and forces a stalemate.

    If the queen does not take the rook, white simply takes the queen, black takes back and the white pawn will never be promoted.

  • #112

    stalemate

  • #113

    nice stalemate  Cool

  • #114

    What about 1...Qxe3 2.Kxe3 Kd5 3.Kd3 Kc5

    is it still draw?

  • #115

    yay forced draw Cry

  • #116

    It should be noted that if white plays 3Kd2, then 3...b2 only draws, but 3...QxRe3+ (sacking his queen for white's rook) wins for black.

  • #117

    why wouldn't black just take the rook?

  • #118

    nice

  • #119

    nice forced stalemate

  • #120
    [COMMENT DELETED]
Top
or Join

Online Now