Forums

A great start (I think) but an awfull end

Sort:
tacticop
Hi! I played this game as black today and I think it could represent well where are my weaknesses. Can you analyse it with me to let me understand them because I'm kind of confused. I want to know exactly what was the Bad turning point and what are my greatest weaknesses as a chess player. (Just don't say: your weakness is that you don' t know how to play chess at all, because I am new to chess. I want to know what are my biggest flaws to improve my play.) Thanks you in advance ;)

tacticop

Please?

stocksAndChess1

more piece moves in the opening!

6...h6 is unnecessary as you should be finding ways to develop your bishop and knight

InDetention

i think 3.be6 was a mistake.better would be nc6. trading the knights on move 9 would be OK but still better would be e6. keeping the knights away from d5 and pepearing to play be7 and maybe castle.move 10 was a mistake.you should have played nxe4. on move 12 qe6 is a mistake. better would be e6. kicking the knight out.ng4+ was a blunder on move 19.you were winning but you were still winning after that but better would be nd7.on move 21,qd3 would be better than qh2. qd3 followed by h2  is very bad for white.on move 25, e4 is bad. better would be h2.after 31 rf1 + you were pretty much lost.thats all i can say.

juicysnail

Jenium

Work on simple tactics and read a chess book for beginners.

There is not ONE turning point, but a lot of questionable moves from the very beginning from both sides...

3... Be6 Why?

10... Qd7, Why not take the pawn on e4?

17...e5?? loses to Bc1

19... Ng4+ Why complicating things? You're a piece up.

28 ... Rde8 (maybe Bd6 to protect the pawn and to free your rook)

30... Bc3? (Re7)

38...d3?? Why not Bg3?

39...Rd8?? ...

Just the most obvious mistakes.

You'll improve if you make sure not to hang your pieces, and learn some basic strategy.

tacticop