x
Chess - Play & Learn

Chess.com

FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store

VIEW

An-Passant not working?

  • #1

    Hey guys, may someone please tell me why an-passant was not working in this game around turn 22?

     

    Thanks!

  • #2

    1. en passant

    2. read the rules

    3. pawn on 4 (white) or 5 (black) and enemy pawn must advance 2 on 1 turn, may only be done 1 turn afterwards.

  • #3

     

  • #4

    33. Qxb8 in the game is an immediate win with little counterplay from Black.

  • #5
    kanadeca wrote:

    Hey guys, may someone please tell me why an-passant was not working in this game around turn 22?

     

    Thanks!

    Maybe try doing en passant instead?

  • #6

    in simplest terms: en-passant can only be played when opponents pawn first move is two ranks and falls on the same rank as your pawn. capiche?

  • #7

    For en passant to work a  pawn must be only one rank into enemy territory(5th rank for white, 4th for Black)  and an enemy pawn in his initial position and move 2 squares.

    In your case your pawn moves on b6(second rank into enemy territory. That immediatelly forfeits your en-passant rights.

        Remember , the pawn only one rank into enemy territory and the enemy pawn in adjacent file on it's initial position and moving 2 ranks.

     Examples:

     

    p.s. Don't try this opening , lol.
     

  • #8

    Wow, that's a first around here:  somebody complaining that it's not working! grin.png

  • #9

    If only the old version of chess.com's en passant article were still around... but alas.

  • #10

    The pawn has to be next to the pawn, on the 5th rank, not 6th. Also note that it has to be the immediate move after the pawn move.

Top

Online Now