Clueless

flobalob

flobalob

Black has just moved Ke7, not shown. This is a tactic with white to move, answer is Qe7 which then says solved. I don't get it, please help a newb.

ArtNJ

There is an error, probably in the diagram.  Ng3 is mate in one.  Seems too simple for a tactical problem.  

flobalob

Yes sorry Art i've just added that black moved Ke7 first.

flobalob

However your post has made me see why it's Qe7 so thanks.

ArtNJ

That still doesn't make sense.  Qe7 by black doesn't stop ng3 mate.  And black can't move Ke7...not sure we are even talking about the same diagram, maybe you posted the wrong one?

Scottrf

Ng6 not Ng3

JamesColeman
ArtNJ wrote:

That still doesn't make sense.  Qe7 by black doesn't stop ng3 mate.  And black can't move Ke7...not sure we are even talking about the same diagram, maybe you posted the wrong one?

 I think he means that in the diagram Black plays Ne7 (not Ke7) and then Qxe7 (for white) would be correct as it wins a piece due to the Ng6# idea.

Rat1960

 I think he means that in the diagram Black plays Ne7 (not Ke7) and then Qxe7 (for white) would be correct as it wins a piece due to the Ng6# idea.
Thanks James. 

Scottrf

Makes sense, removing the defender of the g6 square.

Theshallowend

Yep Ng6  mate in one for white.

Theshallowend

OK black Knight moved to e7  not shown  whites qween takes Knight on e7 correct move.if black tries to take the white qween. White has checkmate with ng6.

flobalob

Yes my bad, should have said Ne7.