Forums

French Defence Analysis

Sort:
qw098

Hi Guys! This is my first time on chess.com, and it looks great! I was wondering about this game I played as Black. I am a French Defence Player. I believe the French Defence is a great opening and gives black one of the best chances to neglect White's opening advantage, yet, in this game, my opponent, white, totally destroyed me. I was wondering, where did I go wrong? After analysing this game for about one hour, and still haven't found my crucial mistake. Your help would be greatly appreciated, as I have some important tournaments coming up, and knowing that I can trust my French Defence if my opponent enters the Nc3 lines would be of great moral support to myself.

Thank you,

:)

smsjr723
me personally... your 5 move knight ndf7 i think was weak... i would have thrust forward to E4 with the knight... presumedly forcing the swap of the knights, allowing to then take the white's bishop with your bishop... allowing the knight to hook out...and capture white's knight with your queen... or do the straight swap of knight trade with the pawn on e4 and the bishop/queen trade as happended.  ...i guess my point being.  you let white get in your area and did nothing but trade... if you're going to trade.  or look like you're loosing or trading peices. jack up their plans somewhat by getting in their space.  ...the forward pawn.   or having your queen way out in the open on white's king side.  i feel is better position.  rather than having all the trades take place right smack dab in your lower center... from that first weak trade seems like you were constantly on the run/making bad trades.   then again..take my advice with a grain of salt.  very novice player
smsjr723