Why is this a stalemate and not a checkmate?

  • #1
  • #2

    Because there's no check.

  • #3

    If the king isn't under attack it's not checkmate.

    Stalemate is when it's your turn but there are no legal moves (and the king isn't attacked).

  • #4

    Black isn't in check and has no legal move. That's the definition of a stalemate.

  • #5

    I understand. Thank you.

  • #6

    In your settings go to 'Stalemate Rule' and instead of 'Chess' select 'Shatranj'. From then on positions like the OP will be counted as a win.

  • #7
    [COMMENT DELETED]
  • #8
    matborthor wrote:

    Is it most common to play without stalemate draws?


    Not in chess.

  • #9

    If you play by the Shatranj rule taking all the pieces of the opponent also counts as a win. If after your last capture the opponent king on its next move can also take your last remaining piece then it is a draw ( not in Medina though where it is still a win ).

Top
or Join

Online Now