Forums

6 months of hard training

Sort:
knightwriter2000

Hi all. I am in a workers comp position. Due to my injury, all I have to do during the week is go to physical therapy three times a week for an hour. I'm contemplating really studying hard, as in going over my online games here, studying games that are annotated, doing tactics and end game study, as well as a little bit of opening theory.

I have about six month to do this for about six hours, at least, per day, everday.

What I'm wondering is if it should really go for it, or not. I'm 37 years old and have been playing chess all my life. Not seriously until two years ago when I started playing tournaments.

I feel that I'm at a cross road and I'm really looking deep to wonder if I can make...say a national master by forty, and maybe a GM by 50? I know it would take an immense amount of work all along the way, but I have the time now, and the desire to make it happen. The only doubt in my mind is if it is even feasible.

I appreciate any thoughts on the matter. Thank you so much for your time.

sw_fanatic

If you're seriously considering this, then I'll join you. Just let me know.

knightwriter2000
sw_fanatic wrote:

If you're seriously considering this, then I'll join you. Just let me know.

I'm definitely considering this. The only question I have is if it is even a possiblitity to achieve this. That's the big question right now. It it is possible we should contact each other and keep each other on target. It would be great!

knightwriter2000
gards1964 wrote:

I don't mean this to sound flippant. Why does it matter if the goal is possible? If you have the time and the pursuit itself is worthwhile and enjoyable to you just do it. It won't be wasted time whether you make to Master or not. You will be better, you will have enjoyed this unique six month opportunity, and you then have a baseline of the time needed to make Master based on a six month experiment.