Forums

6 years and 1 month - rated 1140 in classical chess online

Sort:
jjupiter6

Nwap111 wrote:

MR MARMAX33.  This is addressed to you:  A six year old should have fun playing chess.  That is all that matters.  Should you wish---and should he---wish to improve then simply learn chess notation and look for game-losing errors, such as a piece of his moves to an un safe square or his opponent takes a piece, but your son does not take back.  Also the board is im portant for improvement.  Many 1600-1700 do not know the board.  Play a game with him.  Teach him the names of the squares and then simply ask whether they are dark or light.  It will improve his game, when he can correctly name the squares.  You can even find free apps on line that do this.  Hope that helps.

Best advice in thread. OP ignore everything else and go with this. I'm a teacher of a class of 6 year olds btw.

ABC_of_EVERYTHING