Forums

best strategy book?

Sort:
ss1alexwarren

hello ppl, im looking for what is the best book on chess straregy,1's in the catagory of how to reasses your chess and modern chess strategy. im fairly new to the level were i dont mak tactical mistake and i stuggling with my planning a bit. alot of time right out of the opening and in closed positions i find it hard to figure what my plan should be. i almost half way through the amatuars mind im enjoying it.but once i get done with that i want a most advances strategy book 1 that covers positional elements and planning here are the books that im looking at

how to reasses you chess(but i'd like to know some other ways of planning besides imbalances. any books that talk about how GMs plan?)-silman

modern chess strategy(can read but not a fan of descriptive notations) -pachman

secrets of modern chess strategy-watson

my system-nimzo

any other recommendation?

anybody got experience with these books to share and especially silmans im leaning towards that 1 but i find theres alot of good and bad you here about silman. but im more intrested if his imbalance thinking technique is good or not do GMs plan that way? or are there alot better ways to evaluate and come up with a plan and if so what books do i find them in?

helltank

Twilight.

ss1alexwarren

anything usefull

santoy55

Play like a grandmaster by Kotov is almost perfect  think.

RoyRahul

you must master openings you play and know strategy behind them. For example, when I play queens pawn opening I have elo performance of 2700 where as if i were to play E4 opening I would have an elo of 1500.

Bishop-Brask

I like "The art of the middlegame in chess" by Kotov and Keres. Someone reviewed it here.

AndyClifton

Best is Pachman (in 3 volumes, if you can find the long version).

Don't try Watson or Nimzovich unless you're pretty advanced.

Also Pawn Structure Chess by Andy (no relation) Soltis is very good.  As is Simple Chess by Michael Stean.

msiipola