Bulldog Chess with Witch and Guard (Benjibass-Bad_Dobby_Fischer)

Benjibass

Ok, well you can run outta time if ya want NP...Deal.

Bad_Dobby_Fischer

NO

I GET TIME PAUSED FOR RULE QUESTIONS

Benjibass

You can not get time paused, time keeps running, it is an experienced player responsibility to 2 know the rules...

Bad_Dobby_Fischer

that's not correct

there have been n=many cases of rule debates

Benjibass

Umm, pls, if you are so sure about the rules, then lets bet....

Bad_Dobby_Fischer

i am NOT sure

thats my opinion

i am waiting for martin to explain

Bad_Dobby_Fischer

and you have not told me what you disagree with

JohnHS

Moving a rook from a1 to c1 is moving two squares.

Moving a Witch from h6 to j6 is moving two squares.  Moving the Witch from h6 to h8 would be jumping two squares, since it's jumping over a pawn that's in the way.  You're jumping two squares.  You're not jumping over two squares.  When a rook moves two squares, there's only one square between it and where it started.  Same with jumping two squares.  Like how a knight jumps two squares forward and one square sideways.  The square that it jumps over and the one it jumps onto are both counted. 

This has been a consistent rule (I lost a game once because I didn't know this rule, I thought all adjacent pieces were transparent to the Witch, and so she could move straight through the pieces adjacent to her).

Hope that made sense! grin.png  I sometimes over-think explanations.  But yeah, Benji and ry are right.  

Martin0

Rating points is not a resource that can be spent or gambled with. Fixing game results in any way that is not a natural part of the game (like betting) is not allowed either and may result in a double forfeit.

The time is stopped when asking rule questions.

@JohnHS is correct with his explanation, the move is not legal.

Benjibass

ok, time unpaused...

Bad_Dobby_Fischer

then what is jumping one square?

Bad_Dobby_Fischer

Wf7

Benjibass

WFB

Bad_Dobby_Fischer
Bad_Dobby_Fischer wrote:

then what is jumping one square?

benji, answer too, since you dont agree

rychessmaster1
There is no jumping 1 square, either jumping 2 or moving 1
Benjibass

I disagree with you.... But i agree with the rules.

Martin0

There's no point in saying jumping 1 square, since then it is the same distance as the king movement and you're not moving over any squares. People usually does not call the king a jumper, despite the fact that it share the feature of a knight that it can only be blocked on the destination square.

Martin0

24.Rae1 Wf7

null

Benjibass

Nd4