Forums

effective chess study plan

Sort:
tescik

Do you have any ideas what is the best way of studying chess?

Lets say for next 3 months i have 3 hours everyday  for study chess +  1-2hours for 100 tactical puzzles.

Whats the best way for effective study:
1 day 3 hours of strategy, other day 3 hours of openings or endings, another day 3h of middle game etc.

Or everyday 1h of endings + 1h of oppening + 1h of middlegame?

PLAVIN81

By playing the game= Will give you the most experience

tescik
PLAVIN79 wrote:

By playing the game= Will give you the most experience

Many games will not make you a better player. You have to analyze your games and fix your errors, otherwise you will learn bad habits.

kco

Here is some ideas:

http://www.chess.com/article/view/study-plan-directory

tescik
Lack of knowledge in every aspect of game
-zero knowledge about endgames
-bad opening habits
I had only one book  "secrets of opening preparation by jusupow"

I have been playing for almost 15 years, but i had a break for few years.
I never study chess. Now i see that i wasted all potential that i had.

I am at point where i need to start study and "make it" or stop playing because playing loose chess without understanding of game is a pure frustration.
waffllemaster

A coach will help you make a study plan.

Without a coach, I'd say get one well regarded book on the endgame or a middle game idea (pawns, attacking, game collection, strategy etc).  Read the book religiously and play in many tournaments.  When you're done with the book, get a well regarded book on the other subject (middle or endgame) and read it thoroughly.

With your tournament games, analyze them and chat with stronger players about your games.