Forums

IS 25 too old to become a titled player?

Sort:
violinandchess

chess is a logical game so once you understand its logic well u can improve your ratings and a title too .but i also asked this same question in different form

is _ too late to become a good violinist ?

and i got a reply that it wont happen it need to be devolop in childhood like 3-5 years old 

Rasparovov
SSNegi wrote:

I started playing online chess around 3 months ago and my standard rating is around 1500. Im 17 any chances?

It's hard to tell soo early.

Ziryab
Shadowknight911 wrote:

let me clarify, the players that I'm playing that are at 2200 level online feel like 1800-2000 level players OTB.  I'm playing a couple of players now that probably are masters or at master strength, but over the past few months, most of the players zI've played I feel like they're about 200 points lower that what is listed. 

This is a common experience, but there are 1500s here who play as well as masters (perhaps assisted), and I know at least one strong correspondence player (2300+) who has an old USCF of ~1500 and recently returned to OTB play.

Efforts to correlate the two rating pools are fraught with difficulty. 

DrFrank124c
D_for_DJ wrote:

I have seen people  become GM's at age 60!  like Larry Kaufman. It's never to old to become a title player my friend.

Amen brother! As long as your brain functions normally you should be able to learn new things. An old dog can learn new tricks!

ZeldasCrown

Really, it's about how much time you put into it. Honestly, it wouldn't surprise me to see more people who become highly ranked players later in life-as you grow older, some of your time committments disapear (no more school, as you reach retirement age there might be less work, children are grown and don't need the care they used to, etc) and there's more time for things like chess. 

Makholm