x
Chess - Play & Learn

Chess.com

FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store

VIEW

mate in 1

  • #1
    u can promote to any piece insteadwk.png
  • #2

    there is a mate in two but not a mate in one. i even checked with an engine to confirm my suspicions.  

  • #3
    It's a trick where you have to "promote"to a black knight to lock down the b8 square.I think it's an illegal move though,not sure if FIDE specifies.
  • #4

    You are correct gingerninja2003 & I would have to agree with TripleParakeetShoes here.

    Just a thought:

    To get a checkmate in one move is only possible if you change setup of the puzzle.

    You would have change the position of the Queen & Rook. Queen on c7 & Rook on g6 instead.

  • #5

    LilBoat21 wrote:

    Promote to a black knight

    LilBoat21 wrote: Promote to a black knight
  • #6

    I messed up that last message. LilBoat21, did you check TripleParakeetShoes post#3?

  • #7

    TripleParakeetShoes wrote:

    It's a trick where you have to "promote"to a black knight to lock down the b8 square.I think it's an illegal move though,not sure if FIDE specifies.

    That's clever. I would never have seen that.
  • #8

    ericw957 wrote:

    Promote to a black pawn. happy.png

    How could a black pawn get on that file?
  • #9
    a black pawn could take the rook
  • #10

    CHEZ08 wrote:

    u can promote to any piece insteadwk.png
    hows moving that pawn saving it
  • #11

    answer:b8=bn.png

  • #12

    @#1 Whatever you premote 1. Pb8 to, then Kxb8, so no mate in 1.

    @#9 is mate in 4.

  • #13
    Brendan_UK wrote:

    @#1 Whatever you premote 1. Pb8 to, then Kxb8, so no mate in 1.

    @#9 is mate in 4.

     

    It is correct by the current FIDE rules, but I believe that historically, pawns could be promoted to a piece of either colour. In both cases, promoting to a black knight will prevent the Black king from escaping, since players are not allowed to capture their own friendly pieces.

  • #14

    Promoting a White pawm to a Black bishop could also be useful in some cases, but for now I am yet to think of one case though.

  • #15

    pawm???

     

  • #16
    CHEZ08 wrote:

    pawm???

     

     

    Interesting that you managed to spot my misspelling. I did not realise it at all. I will leave my earlier post untouched though.

  • #17

    It's a stupid puzzle with no legal solution you can't promote to an opponents piece this puzzle sucks 

  • #18
    The answer is to promote the pawn to a black piece isn't it?

    I used to be fascinated by that idea in my early chess years.

    It's nice to see others have considered the idea like I have.
  • #19

    @Dodger111 @LM_player

     

    The solution is indeed to promote to a piece of the opponent's piece colour. The older rules of chess were that such promotions are legal. Of course, computer programs designed today do not incorporate these old rules, since the rules have changed over time and such promotions are no longer legal today.

     

    Dodger111, in contrast to your opinion, I love these kinds of puzzles. More possibilities can occur in chess because more options are available (although this includes letting the opponent win by promoting a pawn to a queen of the other colour).

     

    LM_player, there are other rules that were valid in the past, such as vertical castling since the rules of castling were not as strict in the past as they are today.

  • #20
    eric0022 wrote:
    Brendan_UK wrote:

    @#1 Whatever you premote 1. Pb8 to, then Kxb8, so no mate in 1.

    @#9 is mate in 4.

     

    It is correct by the current FIDE rules, but I believe that historically, pawns could be promoted to a piece of either colour. In both cases, promoting to a black knight will prevent the Black king from escaping, since players are not allowed to capture their own friendly pieces.

    Historically pawns could NEVER be promoted to an opponents piece. 

    Never. Ever.

Top

Online Now