x
Chess - Play & Learn

Chess.com

FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store

VIEW

mate in 1

  • #21

    @Dodger111 @LM_player

     

    The solution is indeed to promote to a piece of the opponent's piece colour. The older rules of chess were that such promotions are legal. Of course, computer programs designed today do not incorporate these old rules, since the rules have changed over time and such promotions are no longer legal today.

     

    Dodger111, in contrast to your opinion, I love these kinds of puzzles. More possibilities can occur in chess because more options are available (although this includes letting the opponent win by promoting a pawn to a queen of the other colour).

     

    LM_player, there are other rules that were valid in the past, such as vertical castling since the rules of castling were not as strict in the past as they are today.

  • #22
    eric0022 wrote:
    Brendan_UK wrote:

    @#1 Whatever you premote 1. Pb8 to, then Kxb8, so no mate in 1.

    @#9 is mate in 4.

     

    It is correct by the current FIDE rules, but I believe that historically, pawns could be promoted to a piece of either colour. In both cases, promoting to a black knight will prevent the Black king from escaping, since players are not allowed to capture their own friendly pieces.

    Historically pawns could NEVER be promoted to an opponents piece. 

    Never. Ever.

  • #23

    According to FIDE, this position would not retain a mate in one for white.

  • #24

    @Dodger111

     

    I did not make the story up, you can do a google search on 'white pawn promotes to black knight'. I used to not believe in such promotions too until I saw it for the first time.

     

    @Alika05

     

    Correct, there is no mate in one under the current FIDE rules.

Top

Online Now