Could somebody tell me if you only have a king left,is there a rule on how many moves you have before stalemate and if so, how many??
The rules don't require the opponent to commit stalemate. Your opponent could resign or forfeit on time instead, or offer a draw that you accept, or claim a draw in various circumstances, not just the number of moves but also repetition. So many possibilities, so little time. Mel Brooks said it was good to be the king.
But surely my opponent would,nt resign if he still had peices left? i just thought there"s an amount of moves in which they have to checkmate you or the game is drawn.
They should be able to manage it in a certain amount of moves.
It seems I have inadvertently scored first reply on this thread by virtue of the change from daylight saving to standard time.
If you don't believe me, I predict that clubkev will mention a club where the rule was "26 moves before stalemate" and be surprised "this not a rule then!!"
i ihink no rule on how many moves, before stalemate, excect on time.
50 moves with no pawn move or captures = one player can claim a draw
Ah, you're still here, clubkev.
Also, there may be a draw due to insufficient material, if the opponent runs too short on pieces to be able to cause a checkmate.
The game may be drawn if each player has made at least the last 50 consecutive moves without the movement of any pawn and without any capture.
At a club where i used to play you had 26 moves before stalemate, but it would seem this is not a rule then!!
I do believe you Sonny, just wanted to know the actual ruling if any!!
"Stalemate" is a draw, but only the specific draw where the side to move has no legal move but is not in check.
With a lone King, a draw is the most you can hope for, even if the opponent's time expires. You may claim a draw by threefold repetition or the 50-move rule, or if your opponent is no longer trying to win the game "by normal means" (just shuffling his own King to hope you lose on time, for instance). Stalemate, in the rare cases it occurs, is automatic. The others must be claimed.
Thankyou for comments guys!! at least that helps. I looked at the rules and could,nt find anything on the subject.
The club i played at (20 yrs ago!) obviously made that rule up themselves!
mate with a king, knight, against a lone king, may take nearly 50 moves if it starts in the 'worst' position for the attacker - provided of course, that he: a. knows what to do, and b. plays without mistakes.
Mate with a king and a knight against a lone king is impossible due to insufficient material. And if you're referring to a king with a pair of knights vs a lone king, I'm pretty sure that that's a theoretical draw regardless of the 50 move rule.
The game ends in a draw if any of these conditions occur:
The player having the move may claim a draw by declaring that one of the following conditions exists, or by declaring an intention to make a move which will bring about one of these conditions:
If the claim is proven true, the game is drawn (Schiller 2003:21,26–28).
At one time, if a player was able to check the opposing king continually (perpetual check) and the player indicated their intention to do so, the game was drawn. This rule is no longer in effect; however, players will usually agree to a draw in such a situation, since either the rule on threefold repetition or the fifty-move rule will eventually be applicable (Staunton 1847:21–22), (Reinfeld 1954:175).
If it's king VS king and nothing else then it's a draw regardless of what your clock says!
The game is immediately drawn when there is no possibility of checkmate for either side with any series of legal moves. This draw is often due to insufficient material, including the endgames
Lone king can win the game if his opponent accidentally puts his own king where the line king could capture it, and the move is not challenged!! (why would you challenge it?) ;-)