Forums

Pawn Promotion to... Bishop?

Sort:
heidirlynn

There's a question I've been pondering for many years and finally need some resolution.

You know in a chess game, when you finally get a pawn to the other side and have the opportunity to promote him to a better piece?

who in their right mind would choose a bishop or a rook over a queen?  I can understand sometimes a knight, if the L-shape is tactically to your advantage.  But a bishop or rook can only move diagonally or laterally, whereas the queen can do both. Seems like a pretty obvious choice.

Just curious, has anyone here actually chosen a bishop or rook in this situation?  And if so... why?  self-hatred?  amusement?  satire?

wbbaxterbones

Sometimes a queen would cause stalemate.

heidirlynn

Oh. I was hoping it was satire.

planeden

i've never done it in a game, but there are several puzzles where underpromoting to a rook is required.  i have seen some where you have to promote to a bishop, but these seem like the are constructed specically so you have to promote to a bishop rather than resembly a real game situation. 

ivandh
heidirlynn wrote:

Oh. I was hoping it was satire.

That too.

Orangel

I was just wondering if it would ever be appropritate to have him ramain a pawn.  To me, it's the most appealing shape there is.  Plus, he's kind of a scrappy little guy. 

goldendog

I wonder when it's good to promote to a checker.

Just wondering.

Tyzer

Bishop underpromotions are the least common by a significant margin, but they do happen on very rare occasions. As mentioned above, it's usually for stalemate reasons.

It's much more common to see the idea in puzzles though.

Orangel wrote:

I was just wondering if it would ever be appropritate to have him ramain a pawn.  To me, it's the most appealing shape there is.  Plus, he's kind of a scrappy little guy.