x
Chess - Play & Learn

Chess.com

FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store

VIEW

Rules questions

  • #1

    If I , without noticing, move a piece that puts me into check from my opponent what should happen?  I have heard different interpretations.  My understanding is that the move I made is an illegal one and that I should then return the piece I moved to its original position.  As it it still my turn I can then move another piece. is this correct? But is there some kind of penalty?.  Thanks!

  • #2
    In tournaments moving a piece that would put you in check is illegal. I've won 5 games by clling a arbiter and having him loose for it.
  • #3

    I think that's only true in a rapid tournament. Also, can no one spell lose correctly?

    As far as the original question, yes, you've made an illegal move and the board gets reset to right before you made it. However, if you can make a legal move with the piece you touched, you must move that piece, even if it puts you in a bad position.

  • #4

    You only lose immediately under FIDE rules for Rapid play, and only if someone actually notices. For classical play it has to happen twice (after the first time your opponent gets 2 extra minutes). Otherwise FIDE rule 7.5a applies: 

    If during a game it is found that an illegal move has been completed, the position immediately before the irregularity shall be reinstated. If the position immediately before the irregularity cannot be determined, the game shall continue from the last identifiable position prior to the irregularity.

     

  • #5
    I didn't say he was immediately gone, I'm lower level so the players are not that involved in seeing pins sometimes.
  • #6

    "Also, can no one spell lose correctly?"

    I see this now even among university faculty. I swear this is a new phenomenon brought on by Internet spelling.

  • #7

    It makes me wonder if people know the meaning of loose.

  • #8

    If your pants are loose you might lose them.

    Does that clear it up?

  • #9
    chessspy1 wrote:

    If your pants are loose you might lose them.

    Does that clear it up?

     

    Finally, the voice of reason.

  • #10
    hairhorn wrote:

    You only lose immediately under FIDE rules for Rapid play, and only if someone actually notices. For classical play it has to happen twice (after the first time your opponent gets 2 extra minutes). Otherwise FIDE rule 7.5a applies: 

    If during a game it is found that an illegal move has been completed, the position immediately before the irregularity shall be reinstated. If the position immediately before the irregularity cannot be determined, the game shall continue from the last identifiable position prior to the irregularity.

     

     

    Newest rules, for events starting on or after January 1st of 2018, don't have the automatic loss stipulation. It is a time penalty and reset the position, even in Rapid/blitz.

    https://www.fide.com/component/handbook/?id=208&view=article

    Second illegal move loses the game. In blitz, time penalty is 1 minute instead of 2.

     

Top

Online Now