Forums

The thought process of chess

Sort:
EcoandFin

I am a beginner in chess. There was only one game that I lost because I was not able to defend. Every other games I've lost was because I didn't see the next move coming, which is called a blunder.

I am starting to develop a thought process to eliminate such blunders. 

The first thing I look at is wether the piece last moved is attacked by my pieces or not, then look at positional changes to find his possible next move. If there are no serious threats, I would take the piece if it's free(if he made a blunder), or I would try to apply tactics.

CP6033

so are you asking for help or are you telling us how you are improvingÉ

MrDamonSmith

Aww man, if only I'd tried that. He's doing us a favor & letting us know that he's found the solution. We can rest easier now, just follow his lead. Thanx & good luck with all that. 

MrDamonSmith

By the way CP6033, did you play in that tournament yet where you had to score at least 50%?

macer75
MrDamonSmith wrote:

By the way CP6033, did you play in that tournament yet where you had to score at least 50%?

He played, but unfortunately he scored 49%. In his last round he drew against a 400 because he accidentally stalemated him in a K+Q+R vs K endgame.

EcoandFin
CP6033 wrote:

I thought I could post it here so people could see if there's something wrong with my thought process :)

UltraLaser

Could you post a game with annotations showing your thought process? It is easier to analyze something practical. Generally it sounds good.

EcoandFin
MrDamonSmith wrote:

Aww man, if only I'd tried that. He's doing us a favor & letting us know that he's found the solution. We can rest easier know, just follow his lead. Thanx & good luck with all that. 

Hi! Thanks for replying. Good luck with chess!

EcoandFin
UltraLaser wrote:

Could you post a game with annotations showing your thought process? It is easier to analyze something practical. Generally it sounds good.