they say you can't checkmate with only 1 knight, well .........................

menoobdumb2-fnaf-fan

menoobdumb2-fnaf-fan

hi                

 

 

 

 

menoobdumb2-fnaf-fan
menoobdumb2 wrote:

life is only pain then you die

 

 

 

 

 

pavelkoulikov

You can't checkmate if you have knight and king and your opponent only has the king. In that case it is impossible to checkmate and it is a draw. (Same if you have only a bishop). You can checkmate with knight and bishop but actually not many people can do that because it is not easy to do.

Martin_Stahl
pavelkoulikov wrote:

You can't checkmate if you have knight and king and your opponent only has the king. In that case it is impossible to checkmate and it is a draw. (Same if you have only a bishop). You can checkmate with knight and bishop but actually not many people can do that because it is not easy to do.

 

Correct, and the site ignores the material the other side has. There are a lot of mates that are possible, and games that are draws here  that are not draws under FIDE rules, where mate just had to be possible by any series of legal moves.

ry-guy14

Black couldn't put themselves in that position. This is illegal.

lfPatriotGames
ry-guy14 wrote:

Black couldn't put themselves in that position. This is illegal.

What do you mean? With either side to move, the position itself is legal. If it's black to move, the last move could have been 3 different moves by the king or 6 different moves by the knight. If it's white to move the last move was pawn to a2.

ry-guy14
lfPatriotGames wrote:
ry-guy14 wrote:

Black couldn't put themselves in that position. This is illegal.

What do you mean? With either side to move, the position itself is legal. If it's black to move, the last move could have been 3 different moves by the king or 6 different moves by the knight. If it's white to move the last move was pawn to a2.

Depends, is black going up the board or down the board?? If they're going down it's legal, but if they're going up, there's no way the king is stuck in the corner like that.

Chrismoonster

The classic smother mate can be done with just a knight 

lfPatriotGames
ry-guy14 wrote:
lfPatriotGames wrote:
ry-guy14 wrote:

Black couldn't put themselves in that position. This is illegal.

What do you mean? With either side to move, the position itself is legal. If it's black to move, the last move could have been 3 different moves by the king or 6 different moves by the knight. If it's white to move the last move was pawn to a2.

Depends, is black going up the board or down the board?? If they're going down it's legal, but if they're going up, there's no way the king is stuck in the corner like that.

It doesn't depend. Black pawns can only move down the board. That's what the co-ordinates are for. A2, c1, etc.

Also, even if the co-ordinates were reversed, and black is moving up the board the position would still be legal if it's black to move.

hitthepin

But there’s a pawn there

bilalakhtar110

Abdul , once I did a checkmate with a pawn a bishop and a king 

eric0022
ry-guy14 wrote:
lfPatriotGames wrote:
ry-guy14 wrote:

Black couldn't put themselves in that position. This is illegal.

What do you mean? With either side to move, the position itself is legal. If it's black to move, the last move could have been 3 different moves by the king or 6 different moves by the knight. If it's white to move the last move was pawn to a2.

Depends, is black going up the board or down the board?? If they're going down it's legal, but if they're going up, there's no way the king is stuck in the corner like that.

 

 

menoobdumb2-fnaf-fan

this is 

menoobdumb2-fnaf-fan
ry-guy14 wrote:

Black couldn't put themselves in that position. This is illegal.

it is legal

eaglechess_ll

god bless me

 

menoobdumb2-fnaf-fan

why