Three consecutive moves - rule

55NORTH

Does a draw have to be "claimed" I'd understood that it was a convention that it was declared automatically. The players choose to make the moves.  I had that situation yesterday as my opponent was running my clock down. I expected the computer to declare a draw, it didn't, I was confused and lost on time. If I'd claimed it would acceptance be mandatory?

wanmokewan

Just like in OTB, a draw by repetition has to be claimed, yes.

55NORTH

Thanks Wanmokewan,  I'm thick what's "OTB" and is acceptance of claim mandatory?

jonathanpiano13
OTB=Over the board. Often referred to a game in a tournament (face to face with real board and pieces) with classical (=long) time control. There a draw by 3-fold repetition needs to be claimed
55NORTH

Thanks for help nr 4

jlssoft

I’ve been musing over the three position draw rule. I know you can claim a draw when the same position happens or is just about to happen but what if you already had a thee fold repeat and make another move? Can it be claimed later? I have had this happen to me and probably the most famous example is the fifth game of the 1921 World Chess Championship match between José Raúl Capablanca and Emanuel Lasker, the same position occurred three times, but no draw was claimed. Could Lasker asked for a draw after he blundered later on in the game? I think not be I’m not 100% sure.

A_G_A
jlssoft wrote:

I’ve been musing over the three position draw rule. I know you can claim a draw when the same position happens or is just about to happen but what if you already had a thee fold repeat and make another move? Can it be claimed later? I have had this happen to me and probably the most famous example is the fifth game of the 1921 World Chess Championship match between José Raúl Capablanca and Emanuel Lasker, the same position occurred three times, but no draw was claimed. Could Lasker asked for a draw after he blundered later on in the game? I think not be I’m not 100% sure.

I don't think that you can claim it later on. If you could, then the game would have to end in a draw because whoever is about to lose would just claim a draw.

omnipaul

When you claim a draw, there is no opportunity for the opponent to refuse, the game is simply drawn at that time.  The opponent may dispute the claim if they think there wasn't a threefold repetition, leaving the decision to the arbiter; online, the server is the arbiter and pressing the draw button will result in a claim if valid and an offer if a claim isn't valid.

 

Draw claims are only valid if the current position (or the position immediately following your own sealed move, OTB) is a threefold or 50-move occurrence.  If you do not claim it at the right time, then you lose the opportunity to claim a draw under these rules unless another opportunity presents itself later on.

jonathanpiano13
Also note that the threefold repetition doesn‘t need to occur on ‚consecutive‘ moves
mickynj

Another reason that the draw must be claimed is that both players may prefer to keep on playing.