Forums

THREE player chess board?!

Sort:
RookedOnChess

OK, I'm pretty new to chess, so never heard of this. When I went onto ebay to check out chess boards, I saw this. The only thing I can think of when I look at it, thinking of what it takes to master a TWO-player game, is "How hard THIS must be!" lol

Item image

dawgface420

Looks like a game involving more diplomacy than cold logic.

yakushi12345
dawgface420 wrote:

Looks like a game involving more diplomacy than cold logic.

Agreed, now 2 on 2 team chess would be an interesting enterprise.

RookedOnChess

hmmmm...only if they could discuss each move as a team. I remember with "Magnus vs. the World" when, with 3 masters all with generally different approaches, Susan Polgar explained it best as "too many cooks in the kitchen" creating confusion. I totally agreed.

machinecraig

I got a Chess4 set a while back and tried playing in teams ... let's just say I didn't find as much fun as regular chess.

To accomodate four armies, the board becomes so big that bishops, queens, and rooks overpower the other pieces. And there are so many threats on the board at once that it's very hard to evaluate. 

It does make for an insane game though.

RookedOnChess

I would think you'd need a LOT of mental stamina for these games!

Pat_Zerr

The way I understand that 4 player game, you can either play partners or 4 different opponents.  You can play it so that if you checkmate one of your opponents, his pieces then become your pieces and you can move them as yours. 

I admit I've never seen the 3 player version before, but I imagine it could be played the same way.

RookedOnChess

I guess it's good if you want a change from straight chess or if 3 or 4 people want to be in on the same game instead of separate.

waffllemaster

I played 4 way chess on a circle board, it was fun but you get backstabbed!

RookedOnChess

Yeah, it's got to be hair-raising being attacked, not just head on, but from both sides, too!

tranminhkhoi2