Two Knights and King versus lone King?

DrFrank124c

Can white win in a position where white has two knights and his king and black only has a lone king or is this position a draw? There cannot be any additional pawns or pieces on the board. What about the 50 move rule in this position?  I need an anwer from a titled player for this one! Have there ever been any actual master tournament games with this position?

BillyDoubleU
Only if the lone king blunders into mate otherwise a forced mate is not possible.
DrFrank124c
BillyDoubleU wrote:
Only if the lone king blunders into mate otherwise a forced mate is not possible.

Thank you for your answer. What is your source for this answer?  I see from your profile you are not a high ranked player but did you read this somewhere? I want an authoritative answer. 

AtaChess68
If you google ‘2 knights vs king’ you get the same answer. Validation by triangulation.
adrtt7yuhh

 

adrtt7yuhh

stockfish says it is a draw

DrFrank124c
adrtt7yuhh wrote:

stockfish says it is a draw

That's the problemo, some people say its a draw, some people say the side with the knights win. I want to know what masters and gms say.

DrFrank124c

I have just checked Wikipedia, they have an extensive article on this position and they say

Two knights cannot force checkmate, but three knights can

BillyDoubleU
Stockfish says it’s a draw because stockfish doesn’t blunder. So like I said, two knights wins only of the opposing king blunders himself into mate. Otherwise it’s a draw. Every book I’ve read has said the same thing and Silman’s Endgame course I believe mentions he’s never gotten that endgame or maybe once. Ever. And same went for his peers. It’s an endgame that’s very rare. If I’m remembering the text correctly.
Fast_OODA_Loop

So, promote your last pawn to a knight if you already have two and you should win easily.

chamo2074
DrFrank124c a écrit :
adrtt7yuhh wrote:

stockfish says it is a draw

That's the problemo, some people say its a draw, some people say the side with the knights win. I want to know what masters and gms say.

Ben Finegold made a video and he talked about that for some time

Bumbokita

I think it is possible but is super rare!