15626 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
Disregarding the fact that playing on hoping your opponent will die in the mean time is horribly unprofessional, if not straight up immoral, you can't forget that these supergrandmasters have the technique to win with such slight advantages, i wouldn't be surprised if Nakamura could win against Houdini from the position blindfolded. Even if he gets horrible indigestion, it would either be called a no contest or he would win despite his condition because these guys are just that good
I doubt that anyone is hoping thier opponent will die. Its just playing to the fact that given that a corospondance game usually lasts 1 1/2 to 3 years that it's a real possibility. Corospondance GMs do win a few games that way, and when it's their time to go they lose a few that way. Its part of the natural order of things, not unethical at all, but fully expected.
He had a right to carry on. If a position is hopelessly lost it shouldn't bother the winning player that the other person wants to carry on. If you know your stuff you can makes moves quickly, pile on the time pressure and the other, losing player should crumble. If you can't manage that then, well...the position wasn't so hopelessly lost to begin with.
you should also keep in mind that this tournament is very very important for him ...... If he wins the tournament, he will finish 2nd in Grand Prix and qualifies for the next candidates ...........
No, he is mathematically eliminated from qualifying by finishing 1st or 2nd in the Grand Prix. He may still qualify by rating, though, although his recent gyrations might put that in jeopardy. Kramnik winning the World Cup means the "high rating" entrants will be one notch lower.
I think he played on because he was in shock. IMpfren noted it must have been a "fingerfehler" move, Caruana is young and hasn't committed such a blunder at this level that I can recall.
He probably just kept playing because he was reeling from the error, then he saw the desperation attack against the King and went for it.
Can someone post the game, please?
Scroll down past the report, it's the first game.
The rating spots were decided based on old rating lists, so Aronian and Kramnik got those long ago, or maybe that should be Aronian and Karjakin after Kramnik won the World Cup. Caruana is not mathematically eliminated from second place in the Grand Prix series though. He just needs to be sole first here, and if he beats Gelfand with white today he will probably be shared first with three rounds to go.
absolutely right fabelhaft ......
I was playing ten minute game and my opponent had a completely lost position. He would not move, I disconnected and reconnected thinking I could trick him into moving and viola he moved when he saw I disconnected. THAT is poor sportsmanship. Playing on for a few moves after a blunder is not poor sportsmanship in my opinion. Especially if he resigned a bit later.
He was probably disgusted with himself as well as flustered and when he regained composure saw that he should resign. A loss like that OTB is a gutting feeling and can shake you up.
I don't think it was a "fingerslip." Caruana spent a lot of time on that move (this was said in his post-game commentary). He couldn't explain why he made that move. He said that he remembered a game where fxg6 was played. But in the end he just played a bad move like all humans do.
What you didn't see, was the poker game later. Caruana was playing Grischuk, bluffs with nothing, and beats Alexander. Nakumuru, who was watching the game, tells Grischuk:
"Nothin'. A handful of nothin'. You stupid mullet head. He beat you with nothin'. Just like today when he kept comin' back at me - with nothin'."
Caruana tells Nakumuru:
"Yeah, well, sometime's nothing is a real cool hand."
Nakamuru joins the game and says:
"Let me sit next to my boy--Cool Hand Caruana..."
As far as waiting for "an opponent to die" in correspondence Chess, let me tell you all a little annecdote that I find darkly amusing. A few years ago in a USCF postal double round robin (of which I won), my last two opponents were quite crushed and had no realistic chance of even coming close to a drawn position. These games were played in the days of no internet and so "snail mail" had to be used. My last two opponents were friendly, fairly nice guys although they really, really sucked as players; they even sucked as OTB players. By "sucked" I mean that they had OTB ratings under 1200 and those were "established" ratings; both men were in their 50`s and had been in the USCF for at least 25 years and were very active players (I later checked their "carreers", so I know). But, as many golfers know, you can really suck at the game and still enjoy trying and enjoying the overall "ambience" of being outside, cameraderie, etc. Moving on to the point, in just making some "small talk" about other stuff on the postcard, I mentioned that after my annual physical, my doctor said that my health was so good that I should live another 50 years. Guess what? Both guys resigned on their next replies to me. Perhaps it was coincidental, but they both knew my age as, in those days, it seemed that folks were more friendly about sharing biographical data. I usually do not volunteer it unless asked, even now. The main point of this is that maybe they had to be reminded that I was not 90 years old and in hospice care and days away from death. Regardless, one has the right to play to the bitter end but if a player is prolonging the inevitable, it may be not a bad idea to tactfully tell them that you may be in good health and are relatively young. This tactic may speed up the resignation process for you. I may actually do that in one of my current games so I can get my 5th win in my 7 man section so I can move into the semi-finals (I need 4 1/2 to advance, actually). By the way, their correspondence ratings have not improved that much either. One sad, pathetic postscript to all this is that the one gentleman told me that once a month he was taking lessons from a 2300 plus master for $50.00@hr. He had been doing this for at least 12 years!
Apparently 14...hg6 is a fingerslip, taking with the other pawn is mandatory. GM Postny seems to have done quite a bit of homework in that line.
Mr. Houdini claims that 20.Nh3 is almost a blunder due to 20...Nxf3, but things are not clear at all- the game is reminiscent to Russian roulette.
Yes Pfren, but I don't get why not black takes the rook in move 25 or 26. Also why it's 1-0 after whites move 27 when black just can take on d2 and win?
Caruana played on in order to avoid the double embarrassment of losing badly and having given Nakamura a miniature. He played on past move 30 to make the score look respectable. Years from now, when people are looking at databases of the games between Naka and Caruana, this game will not stand out from the others.
Perhaps resignation was better, but playing on past move 30 is fairly common among GMs who blunder early.
Didn't Nakamura drag out a game against Aronian earlier this year?
You are right not understanding. Apparently the last moves are registered wrongly, but this is exactly how they appear in the TWIC database.
Probably that he's really good ^_^
Another Vintage Soviet Russian Chess Set Pictorial
by PenWarrior a few minutes ago
First Time Playing Sicilian. Mixed Feelings.
by Daybreak57 a few minutes ago
Nakamura is Japanese not American
by bunicula 2 minutes ago
10/25/2016 - Too Far Advanced
by Pedro989 3 minutes ago
Magnus Carlsen - New Chess Movie 2016
by abhishekchristopher 3 minutes ago
Profile pic rotation
by CTJA 4 minutes ago
Is 1....e6 a good and flexible move against 1.d4?
by MonkeyH 6 minutes ago
How Viktor Korchnoi escaped the touch-move rule? (unknown stories)
by Harbinger50000 10 minutes ago
Carlsen Magnus vs Sergey Karjakin (who do you put your money in)
by ImpulsiveGeniusII 11 minutes ago
My Completed Tournaments glitchy
by windownight 16 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2016 Chess.com
• Chess - English
Try the new Chess.com!
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!