If a person closes their account, does this mean all the forum posts they started and their comments in other forum posts, group Notes and homepage Notes are erased too? Thank you for shedding light on this.
Comments and forum posts from a member who voluntarily closes his account will remain.
Comments and forum posts from a member who is "banned" (i.e involuntarily account closure) will be deleted.
Thank you for the information.
Kohai told me they're only hidden.
Ok, so what's the practical difference between "hidden" and "deleted" from our perspective?
Depends on your user privileges. If you have installed a rootkit on chess.com, it would be a very different perspective.
I don't think there is any. Why they're hidden and not deleted I don't know. I can only assume it's in case of the unlikely event they reverse a decision to ban someone.
Makes sense Adam. Like I know my friend Lebna Degnal could probably get unbanned if he just apologizes for sending too many messages (considered spamming) but unfortunately we haven't heard from him since he got banned. Kinda sucks, he was the second best player on the Chad national chess team on here which I manage, second only to Pfren.
John is right, and so is Adam, posts are only hidden.
And BTW, if someone whose a/c is closed for cheating or abuse, we can contact the staff to recover their posts. I saw people in other groups did it, and I asked kohai to recover the posts of one of my team mates whose a/c was closed for cheating. Now his comments are all there with a cheater symbol beside his name.
Bala, we can close our account at will I know. But if a member asks chess.com to close his account for him or her, will that wipe out his posts and comments in forums and Notes? Will that have the same effect as chess.com closing down an account of a cheater?
no. On voluntarily, all the posts can be seen.
No not voluntarily closing account but asking chess.com to do it for him/her for the deliberate purpose of having all their posts deleted, for their own reasons. Especially posts in groups they have already left and could not erase even if they want to.
Voluntary closure is the same as asking the staff to close the account for them.
If the posts are not visible, then the account has been closed for abuse or cheating.
If their purpose is deliberately having all their posts hidden, especially from groups in which they have quit, and can't delete them now; he / she may start cheating or giving curses to his / her opponents, just for the sake of someone reporting him / her and having his / her account closed for cheating / abuse and posts hidden. That would be too much.
But still possible. Ok thanks Bala. This is useful to know.
This is an important issue, I think. Still, some of the rules are far from being well defined,as Chess.com response has been for the most part a pragmatic one. They have at times reinstated posts which had been deleted because they had been initially posted by a member who was later banned later on, most often for cheating.
In any case, Bala's comments on "voluntary closure" do hold and one would have to recourse to some pretty drastic steps in order to have their account closed by the staff. But indeed, if they manage to make a perfect nuisance of themselves, or "better still", if they turn themselves into blatant cheaters, then yes, that will do it!!!
Vertmouron aka Monique
Actually, all comments made by Bala are totally correct, which makes mine rather redundant come to think of it! LOL
It acts as a refresher, Monique. Thanks for all the inputs
From a forum I had been a day or 2 ago, I happened to quote one's comment and when I checked his account.. it was already closed.
Yeah they were right! The comments are just hidden.
Things you don't know about. Things you don't wanna know about.