Forums

FOLLOWING A GAME MOVE BY MOVE

Sort:
Covenant-Son

On my IPad I noticed that I can use in chess.com a board to play human vs human and follow a book I'm studying move by move, but I don't see that capacity when I use my laptop.

Is there a way I can do that?

MrEdCollins

Any GUI (WinBoard, Scid vs. PC, Arena, Tarrasch, etc.) can do this for you.

Covenant-Son

I'm not familiar with these....

MrEdCollins

You're not using chess engines to analyze games?

MrEdCollins

He has a chess book and he wants to play through the moves of the games using his laptop, rather than using an actual board and pieces. 

All he needs to do is Google "Scid vs. PC" or "Arena" or "chess gui" or something similar, and download a chess GUI and use that.

I also rarely use an actual board to play over GM games anymore.  Using software and a computer has too many advantages.  For one, I can play through a possible line, and then go right back to the main line with the click of a button.  It takes a lot longer to do this with actual pieces. 

Two, I can click a button and get an engine's evaluation of the position, at any time. 

Three, I can save the game so I don't have to enter it again. 

Four... well, you get the idea.

Covenant-Son

Thank you. I will google them. You have been a great help.

KODIAMUSMAXIMUS