x
Chess - Play & Learn

Chess.com

FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store

VIEW

Game not drawn after repetition

  • #1

     

    I offered a draw before playing 44... Rg2+ and repeating the position for the third time, expecting that the game would be drawn automatically when I moved. It wasn't. OK, I guess I needed to move before offering a draw. I just offered a draw again, and now the position has definitely repeated three times, so why isn't the game over?

    https://www.chess.com/daily/game/173734772

  • #2

    Update: Just successfully claimed a draw after the fourth repetition.

  • #3

    While either side can claim a draw after three repetitions, the draw is not enforced.  The rule is similar for 50 moves with no progress; either side can claim the draw, but it's not enforced.

     

    The draw is enforced after 75 moves with no progress or five consecutive repetitions (see section 9.6 of the FIDE handbook: https://www.fide.com/fide/handbook.html?id=171&view=article).  Note that for three-fold repetition, the repetitions do not have to be consecutive, but they do for the enforced five-fold repetition.

  • #4
    MGleason wrote:

    While either side can claim a draw after three repetitions, the draw is not enforced.  The rule is similar for 50 moves with no progress; either side can claim the draw, but it's not enforced.

    I'm aware of that. I was clicking the draw button to claim the draw, but the game wasn't ending.

  • #5

    The position before 44. Rg2+ is not a repetition.  You could have claimed a draw after making the move, but instead you offered a draw beforehand when there was a chance of you making a different move.

  • #6
    MGleason wrote:

    The position before 44. Rg2+ is not a repetition.  You could have claimed a draw after making the move, but instead you offered a draw beforehand when there was a chance of you making a different move.

    I know that too. I was expecting that it would look at me offering/claiming a draw and then making the move to repeat the position. I believe that's how it works in OTB chess? So I guess I was wrong. Fine, I'll know better next time. But that still doesn't explain why it wasn't drawn when I claimed the draw in the position above.

  • #7

    The position after 45. Rf2+ is only the second repetition.

  • #8
    TheronG12 wrote:

    But that still doesn't explain why it wasn't drawn when I claimed the draw in the position above.

     

    The rule is handled differently here online in that you have to make your 3rd repetition and then claim the draw. So if you had claimed after 44......Rg2+  before the opponent had made his move the game would be drawn.

    After your opponent played his 45. Kf1 move the position on the board is no longer a repetition so draw cannot be claimed.  It can only be claimed if you manage to rpeat the same position again. The point is that the board position must show the repated position when you claim, not a different one. This is the same as OTB play rules

  • #9
    Lagomorph wrote:
    TheronG12 wrote:

    But that still doesn't explain why it wasn't drawn when I claimed the draw in the position above.

     

    The rule is handled differently here online in that you have to make your 3rd repetition and then claim the draw. So if you had claimed after 44......Rg2+  before the opponent had made his move the game would be drawn.

    After your opponent played his 45. Kf1 move the position on the board is no longer a repetition so draw cannot be claimed.  It can only be claimed if you manage to rpeat the same position again. The point is that the board position must show the repated position when you claim, not a different one. This is the same as OTB play rules

    Got it, thanks. I did get the draw eventually, so no harm done :-)

Top

Online Now