x
Chess - Play & Learn

Chess.com

FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store

VIEW

Timeout + insufficient material

  • #1

    Hi, I had never heard of the insufficient material rule, but it came up in my last game.  I looked it up, and I don't understand how it applies to the game I played.  

     

     

    It really seems to me like a slam-dunk black victory if I hadn't danced around long enough to waste his last few precious seconds.  I expected a regular timeout draw.

  • #2
    mikesteffler wrote:

    Hi, I had never heard of the insufficient material rule, but it came up in my last game.  I looked it up, and I don't understand how it applies to the game I played.  

     

     

    It really seems to me like a slam-dunk black victory if I hadn't danced around long enough to waste his last few precious seconds.  I expected a regular timeout draw.

    You were white and your opponent was the one who ran out of time.

    You had only a king. Kings can't mate other kings by themselves. Therefore, you have insufficient mating material.

    So even though your opponent ran out of time, a draw is declared.

  • #3

     Don't know if this helps, but here's a previous discussion of the rule (there are many if you want to do a forum search).

    https://www.chess.com/forum/view/game-showcase/draw-by-insufficient-material-or-draw-by-stalemate

  • #4
    notmtwain wrote:
    mikesteffler wrote:

    Hi, I had never heard of the insufficient material rule, but it came up in my last game.  I looked it up, and I don't understand how it applies to the game I played.  

     

     

    It really seems to me like a slam-dunk black victory if I hadn't danced around long enough to waste his last few precious seconds.  I expected a regular timeout draw.

    You were white and your opponent was the one who ran out of time.

    No, I was playing white.

  • #5
    baddogno wrote:

     Don't know if this helps, but here's a previous discussion of the rule (there are many if you want to do a forum search).

    https://www.chess.com/forum/view/game-showcase/draw-by-insufficient-material-or-draw-by-stalemate

    I looked at that thread just now, actually.  But I'm wondering how the rule applies to my recent game, where my opponent had a Queen and a Rook on the board.  That's... sufficient.

  • #6
    mikesteffler wrote:
    notmtwain wrote:
    mikesteffler wrote:

    Hi, I had never heard of the insufficient material rule, but it came up in my last game.  I looked it up, and I don't understand how it applies to the game I played.  

     

     

    It really seems to me like a slam-dunk black victory if I hadn't danced around long enough to waste his last few precious seconds.  I expected a regular timeout draw.

    You were white and your opponent was the one who ran out of time.

    No, I was playing white.

    Yes, I noticed that and was fixing my comments when you replied.

  • #7
    notmtwain wrote:
    mikesteffler wrote:

    Hi, I had never heard of the insufficient material rule, but it came up in my last game.  I looked it up, and I don't understand how it applies to the game I played.  

     

     

    It really seems to me like a slam-dunk black victory if I hadn't danced around long enough to waste his last few precious seconds.  I expected a regular timeout draw.

    You were white and your opponent was the one who ran out of time.

    You had only a king. Kings can't mate other kings by themselves. Therefore, you have insufficient mating material.

    So even though your opponent ran out of time, a draw is declared.

     

    Ok thanks, I understand.

Top

Online Now