Can someone explain this frustrating mystery?

haroldschris
 
Hopefully you can see the above position (scroll forward to the end of the game). If I move my rook G6-H6, it's mate. (I think. I'm not very good at chess, as you can see from all the dumb moves, including missing an obvious mate a few moves earlier. In my defence I plead that I was very short on time and my brain was scrambled.) Anyway, I had finally got to the point where I had one move to make to win the game, and more to the point I knew what that move was (like I say, rook G6-H6). The problem was, I only had 0.7 seconds left. Not a lot of time, I'll grant you. But enough to make one move. So, while my opponent was deliberating, I had my finger on the mousepad, ready to move. But the instant he moved, the game finished. I didn't get 0.7 seconds, or even 0.01 seconds. As soon as he moved, it was over. Result: draw - time out for me, insufficient material for him. But why didn't I get my 0.7 seconds to make my last move? Is there some rule I don't know about? Many thanks to anyone who can help.
notmtwain
haroldschris wrote:
 
Hopefully you can see the above position (scroll forward to the end of the game). If I move my rook G6-H6, it's mate. (I think. I'm not very good at chess, as you can see from all the dumb moves, including missing an obvious mate a few moves earlier. In my defence I plead that I was very short on time and my brain was scrambled.) Anyway, I had finally got to the point where I had one move to make to win the game, and more to the point I knew what that move was (like I say, rook G6-H6). The problem was, I only had 0.7 seconds left. Not a lot of time, I'll grant you. But enough to make one move. So, while my opponent was deliberating, I had my finger on the mousepad, ready to move. But the instant he moved, the game finished. I didn't get 0.7 seconds, or even 0.01 seconds. As soon as he moved, it was over. Result: draw - time out for me, insufficient material for him. But why didn't I get my 0.7 seconds to make my last move? Is there some rule I don't know about? Many thanks to anyone who can help.

The only way to move that fast is with premove.

You probably had at least 0.7 seconds of lag too.  Your opponent had over 19 minutes left.

null

haroldschris

Great, thanks. How does premove work?

PS I know my opponent had lots of time left - that's the frustrating thing. I was one move away from winning and couldn't get the move made in time. The clock didn't even tick down the last 0.7 second, it just immediately went to zero the instant the opponent made his move.

notmtwain

 You just make the move you are planning. It will be played as long as it is not an illegal move (if you are moving into check, got example.)

You need to enable it in live chess settings.

null

JamesColeman

 Your opponent took about 1 min 15 seconds on his final move. Since mate couldn't be prevented by any move, you could have just made the move Rh6# during his thinking time (assuming premove was on) and you'd have won. You could have even left the computer and gone to make a cup of tea happy.png

haroldschris

Belated thanks for the advice. Sounds like premove should be the default setting? Are there any downsides to it?

Martin_Stahl

Downside is if you premove in non-forced lines where your opponent can throw in move that will make your premove a bad one. Or accidentally premove.

 

I have done the latter before during a lag event. I thought my client was locked up so I tried a couple of different moves and both moves ended up being played....surprise.png

rabbit11

Can you change your mind after making a premove and take it back before your opponent moves? Say, where you regret the move or see a better one before your opponent moves.

Martin_Stahl

Yes, at least on the website.  Right-clicking on the board clears the premove queue.

 

https://support.chess.com/customer/en/portal/articles/1444864-what-are-premoves-and-how-do-they-work-

rabbit11

Thank you Martin.

haroldschris

Belated thanks Martin & Rabbit