21433 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I haven't made one in a while, so here you go.
Which of the following is true:
A) White moved last.
B) Black moved last.
C) Either side could have moved last.
D) The position is illegal.
either side could have moved last.
Hmm. It seems that I've created a more complicated puzzle this time.
knightofcrashtest, guessing was not my original intention when making a claim, you must offer analyse and/or proof game.
I'm going with C), because this looks like a cook:
You're absolutely right, it is a cook!
I thought I was being smart with the dark-square bishop, but I missed this. The more complicated the position is, the higher the chance for cooks, unfortunately...
Of course, the answer is C) in this case. However, here's the altered position, with the same question as in post #1. You can do it!
Black's missing 2P and white made 2 pawn captures.
White's missing RBP and black captured one of them on h6. This leaves 2 captures for bPa7. It must have promoted via b3/a2. That's the only way to sacrifice it to a wP.
The other missing bP is Pd7, which promoted also, and did not capture anything. White can't retract the e6 pawn to d5 until black's pawn returns all the way to d6 or d7. He can't retract a2-a3 until a black pawn is unpromoted from a1 and exits at b3.
-1...Bf7? leaves white with no move to retract. Therefore, white moved last [A)].
Good analysis and that is the correct answer.
Well done on solving!
Suggest a Topic for my Blog!
by Robert_New_Alekhine a few minutes ago
5/30/2016 - Tarjan - Karpov, 1976
by FluffyMeep 2 minutes ago
by NKT73 4 minutes ago
Report Spam here! Spam Only! Not abuse, not cheating, Spam Only!
by Robert_New_Alekhine 4 minutes ago
youre worst mistake in chess :)
by timothy_s001 7 minutes ago
how does 2. e5 fare against the sicillian?
by NKT73 9 minutes ago
What Would You Do If You Lose Against a Player Lower Rated Than You?
by trysts 10 minutes ago
Bobby Fischer vs Magnus Carlsen
by fabelhaft 10 minutes ago
The policy and rules playing at live chess
by polisny 12 minutes ago
I dont understand this King Indian variation
by pfren 13 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2016 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!