15036 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
Xiangqi problem. Blue to move and mate in one. (Just thought I'd try to slip one by. Don't ban me. I won't do it again.)
Looks to me like there are two solutions... (western notation)
Or is there something wrong with that?
No, the cannon needs a screen to attack.
Great, another 象棋 fan! Sorry about pics quality, I took them with my phone (motorola v980). It is Xiangqi board and pieces I made for myself (now, I only have to find someone to play it with :'( ).
easy! i play chinese chess myself! move the blue chariot down to put the red king in checkmate! lololz so easy!
But, then red cannon on the second line can just take the chariot, no?
No, the red cannon（炮）on H1 can then take the chariot（車）.
I think the solution is soldier（卒）on E2 to E1 (red General cannot take soldier as it would leave the two generals in alignment, which isn't allowed).
The cannon can take the soldier though.
Sahist4 is correct (and he used the traditional Chinese notation of the move). In chess notation it would be e2-f2 or just f2. After the soldier (pawn) checks, the king cannot move to e1 because of the interesting rule in xiangqi that kings may not occupy the same file if there are no other intervening pieces. It cannot move to g1 because it cannot leave the castle. It cannot capture the soldier because it is protected by the rook.
Rd1 is incorrect because of the red cannon capture that Sahist4 indicated.
As Gerstav pointed out, e2-e1 also is incorrect because the red cannon can capture the soldier on e1.
Sahist4, I like your handmade set.
Thanks to everyone that participated. I won't be putting anymore Asian chess problems up on the forum, but check my blog occasionally. I'll try to have them there from time to time, including problems from my particular favorite, changgi (Korean chess).
I forgot to mention that in this same problem, if it is red to move, he has a mate in 6.
May I post this puzzle to my blog? Giving you credit of course.
i am not sure if you guys can read chinese character and i don't know the way you make notation, i think the right anwser is 卒5平6（move the blue central pawn(or soldier, i don't know how to call these pieces in english) to the right）
"Titled Tuesday LATE EVENT! with GM Eric Hansen"
Beating lower-rated players consistently?
by Sturmgeist99 a few minutes ago
Kasparov is slaughtering Nakamura and So.
by SaintGermain32105 7 minutes ago
Running out the clock
by blastforme 11 minutes ago
by Ghostqiuyu 15 minutes ago
CHESS INTEGALATIC -Leccion # 34 (9ª sinfonia)
by luis_albert 26 minutes ago
FIDE titles as tournament prizes: Yes or No
by alexm2310 26 minutes ago
Hurt/Heal World Champions
by Jimmy720 34 minutes ago
Collectors´Correspondence Chess Club
by informaticacobach29 34 minutes ago
Lately the sound suddenly stops working.
by Pingpong4353 34 minutes ago
Anybody owning the Staunton Europa?
by informaticacobach29 36 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2016 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!